Johnny Be Good – Paige Toon

Johnny Be Good

“If your boss was the hottest rock star on the planet, would you mix business with pleasure?

Celebrity PA to wild boy of rock Johnny Jefferson, Meg’s glam new life in sun-drenched LA is a whirlwind of showbiz parties and backstage passes. Cool, calm Christian, in town to write his famous friend’s biography, helps keep Meg’s feet firmly on the ground. But with Johnny’s piercing green eyes and a body Brad Pitt would kill for, how long will it be before she’s swept right off them again?”

This book was an unusual read for me purely because I read its sequel first (I know, shock horror!), I bought Baby Be Mine (review here) without knowing it was a sequel and I just couldn’t wait to read it because I love Paige Toon books so much.  Seeing as I had already read the sequel I obviously knew what the outcome of this book would be and I was curious to see if it would affect my enjoyment in any way…

Truthfully it did affect my enjoyment a little bit because the parts that would have been shocking just weren’t – I already knew that they were going to happen. So I would definitely recommend reading this book first so that you can fully enjoy the shock factor, particularly at the end!

Back to the storyline itself and I was quickly wrapped up in the authors familiar, fun writing style.  Meg was about to start her new job as a celebrity PA and I could almost feel her excited nervousness rolling off the pages.  I loved the first time that Meg met Johnny, it really had me chuckling as I pictured the scene.  The whirlwind that was Johnny’s life soon caught up with Meg and there were definitely times when she seemed to be overwhelmed by it all.

Christian was a good friend of Johnny’s and ended up supporting Meg when she most needed it, I really liked his character and the three of them together made an entertaining trio – my favourite ‘trio’ moment was a scene where the guys (who were very drunk) ended up in Meg’s tree house and completely interrupted her peace with their antics!

Johnny was a complicated character and my feelings towards him changed throughout – rock-star Johnny was not nice at all, he was selfish and really irritated me but there were times, especially when he opened up about his life, that I saw a different more likeable side to him.  This confused Meg as much as it did me and she found it difficult to control her growing feelings for him, the tour was where everything spiraled and Meg had to take drastic action.

I knew what was coming at the end but if I hadn’t known I would’ve gasped out loud in shock – it really was a brilliant ending!

This was an addictive read, I just couldn’t put it down and loved every minute of it.

Johnny Be Good can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Paige Toon visit her website here.

Please Leave a Comment

