Sophie’s Run – Nicky Wells – Blog Tour Including Giveaways

Come dine with Sophie and Dan: Today’s treat is… Rock-Star Scallops and Pancetta
Sophie’s Run Blogtour 2013

Sophies_Run.indd

“Her famous star remains her rock while life takes her on a little detour…

Who says that the road towards true love is straight and even? Sophie is certainly discovering that it is anything but.

So she has finally found the man of her dreams! Well… she knows who he is, even though she hasn’t actually quite met him yet. But she misses her opportunity, and then her life goes crazy. Rock star and ex-fiancé, Dan, keeps getting in the way of her new romance—even if he is just trying to be helpful. A fire, an impromptu mini-trip with Dan, and a dreaded wedding later, Sophie is still struggling to meet the love of her life. Then, just as she is getting it together with her perfect man, best friend Rachel commits an act of unspeakable betrayal.

Sophie has had enough. Confused and distraught, she decides that it is time for radical change. Surprising herself and shocking her friends, she embarks on a secret journey and eventually gets her life back on track.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Nicky Wells for sending me an ARC to read and give an honest review, I’m so excited to be part of the fantastic blog tour for Sophie’s Run!

I always feel about nervous reading the sequel of a book that I’ve enjoyed so much (my review of Sophie’s Turn can be found here), I worry that it won’t live up to my expectations but I needn’t have worried with this book because somehow it managed to surpass all my expectations – in short, it blew me away! This series is definitely one of my favourites, Nicky has an incredibly natural writing style that draws you in and I love how she keeps you guessing throughout the whole book (and then leaves you guessing about the next one!).

The prologue hinted at some kind of betrayal and whatever it was, Sophie was pretty upset by it. Moving on to the main body of the story and Sophie was singing in a choir, this is where Steve first came to light in a wonderful thunderbolt and lightening way! Sophie seemed to be much more savvy this time round and not at all star-struck by Dan and his glitzy lifestyle but he was still very much involved in her life (thank goodness!). I was so excited to be back in Sophie’s world with the lovely, and extremely sexy, Dan that I quickly found myself caught up in the extravagance of it all – I thought the book had an expensive feel to it.

Along came many twists and turns, there really wasn’t a dull moment: a disastrous birthday party, singing in the studio, a trip to Berlin which included a hilarious dress buying trip and an unexpected meeting in a hospital which led to… well I won’t tell you what that led to, you’ll have to find out for yourself ;).

After a very strange trip to Scotland things quickly went downhill for Sophie – the prologue had hinted at betrayal and it was at this point that I began to get an inkling of what the betrayal would be, I really hoped I was wrong but it turned out that I was spot on and I felt just as outraged as Sophie! I had become so attached to her character that I could almost feel her hurt jumping out at me and this just made me even more annoyed about what had happened. I soon calmed down when the story changed perspectives and I got to hear from the characters in question – I loved this part because it added an interesting twist and explained certain things.

Sophie’s trip to Langeoog, Germany, was fantastic and made me want to try drinking a cup of tea in the way that was described. Her time on the island was calming and I enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere that it created. Later on, I loved learning about the German wedding tradition – what a fun addition to a wedding!

I didn’t want the story to end but unfortunately it had to, the ending was lovely even though it was unexpected – I guess a part of me was still expecting/hoping for a different outcome. Then came Dan’s song lyrics (beautiful) and a note from Sophie, I loved this extra information particularly as it gave me hope for the next book (I won’t elaborate too much on that though :)) and now I just can’t wait to read Sophie’s Encore which is due to be released on 7 September 2013!!

This was another fantastic read from Nicky Wells, if you liked Sophie’s Turn you’re going to LOVE Sophie’s Run!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sophie: Thank you so much for taking part in Nicky Wells (my author)’s blog tour for her second novel, Sophie’s Run. We’re absolutely delighted to be here today, Kate!

Dan: We love taking you on tour with us!

Sophie: Absolutely. And today, we’re sharing with you one of our favorite recipes for…

Dan: LOVE!

Sophie: (nudges him sharply in the ribs) … fabulous scallops. I love scallops! Their sweetness and that juicy tenderness…. (mock swoons)

Dan: I rest my case. Recipe for love!

Sophie: Do you remember when I had scallops in that restaurant when you took me for a first date, way back when?

Dan (frowns, then smiles): What, that night when I had to hide in Rachel’s utility cupboard?

Sophie: Uhm… yeah. That night. My God, those were the days…

Excerpt from SOPHIE’S TURN, Part 1 in the Rock Star Romance Trilogy:

“So, what’s with that boyfriend of yours?” Dan ambushed me with a mischievous grin. “Are you happy?”
I choked on my scallops and sipped at my wine to clear my throat and steady my nerves. Take it easy, a voice whispered in my head, but I ignored it.
“I don’t know,” I confessed, surprising both Dan and myself. “There’s something missing. I’m…bored.” Dan raised his eyebrows.
“Not bored…not exactly. I don’t really feel like me, half the time.” Blimey, where had that profound insight come from? I changed the subject before I did further damage.
“What about you? Are you with someone?”
Dan smiled a sad smile. “Not really, no,” he supplied.

Later that night:

“So Dan walked me here, to your flat, on piggy back, so that I could be here when Tim came by? And you met Dan? And you both put me to bed? And then Dan had to hide in the utility cupboard because Tim had already arrived and was coming up the stairs?”
I paused and looked at Rachel to gain confirmation, once more, of this appalling fact.

Sophie: Goodness, I’d almost forgotten about that.

Dan: Only almost?

Sophie: Well. You know. Anyhoo, aren’t we here to talk about the next bit of our story?

Dan: Definitely. Sophie’s Run. Love it. The story totally rocks. Obviously I love it most when we’ve got you back.

Sophie: (blushes, mumbles into her sleeve): Sorry about that.

Dan: All’s forgiven. But let’s tell these lovely folks how we make your favorite scallop dish.

So here’s the How To: Rock Star Scallops and Pancetta

To make a romantic starter for two, you need…
About twenty small scallops
Four rashers of streaky pancetta
Two handfuls of wild rocket (arugula in the US)
One clove of garlic
One teaspoon of hot smoked paprika powder
Dash of lemon
Olive oil

And here’s what you do

First, marinade the scallops. Place scallops in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Add the teaspoon of paprika powder and the crushed garlic clove, plus a dash of lemon. Leave to marinate for five to ten minutes.

1

Place the rashers of pancetta under a very hot grill. Allow four minutes on each side, and remember to turn. Keep an eye on the bacon lest it should burn.

2

Bring a griddle pan to a really high heat. When you’ve turned the pancetta over, place the scallops in the pan and fry on each side for two minutes, no more! (If you’re using King scallops, you might need to allow three minutes per side, but take care not to overcook).

Arrange a handful of rocket (arugula) as messily as you like on two plates. Remove the scallops from the pan and distribute across the plates. Place the rashers of pancetta on top. Et voila!

Serve with crusty white bread and a crisp, dry white wine.

aa
(All photos courtesy of Nicky Wells)

Dan: YUM! Let’s tuck in.

Sophie: (waves) Bye folks, see you later… And don’t forget to meet us in Sophie’s Run!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Nicky Wells: Romance that Rocks Your World!

Nicky_NEWAuthorPic_April12_useforwebsite

Rock On! Nicky Wells writes fun and glamorous contemporary romance featuring a rock star and the girl next door. A signed author with U.S. publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, Nicky is in the throes of publishing her Rock Star Romance Trilogy. Nicky loves rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, Nicky is a wife, mother, and occasional teaching assistant.

Originally born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993, and currently lives in Lincoln with her husband and their two boys. In a previous professional life, Nicky worked as a researcher and project manager for an international Human Resources research firm based in London and Washington, D.C.

Visit Nicky on her blog where you can find articles, interviews, radio interviews and, of course, an ongoing update on her work in progress. You can also follow Nicky on Twitter and find her on Facebook. Nicky is a featured author on the innovative reader/author project, loveahappyending.com and has joined the Romantic Novelists’ Association. Nicky also has author pages at Sapphire Star Publishing, Amazon and, of course, Goodreads.

Sophie’s Run is now available in Kindle edition from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk, and in Paperback edition from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. You can also get the paperback at Barnes & Noble, or download Sophie’s Run onto your Nook (coming soon).

GIVEAWAYS

1) Standard Giveaway

Nicky Wells is giving away one delicious chocolate gift to a lucky winner in the UK or North America!

BBThe small print: This Gift prize is a product of Unique Chocolate. The Gift prize is subject to availability in your country. If the Gift prize is not available in your country, Nicky Wells reserves the right to offer a substitute gift prize of a similar nature at her discretion. Nicky Wells will require the winner’s postal address for shipping purposes.

To enter this giveaway click on the following link and follow the instructions:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2) Bonus Giveaway

Nicky Wells offers a giveaway of one Amazon gift voucher worth $20/£15 for one lucky winner. To enter, simply share your thoughts on Sophie’s Run with Nicky. Email your comment to nickywells@sapphirestarpublishing.com and your name will be entered into the draw. Competition closes 1 May 2013.

Good luck!

24 thoughts on “Sophie’s Run – Nicky Wells – Blog Tour Including Giveaways

  1. Aw, Kate~if you were blown away by the book, I am blown away by your review. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, and I cannot tell you how much it means to me that you enjoyed it so much. I’ll try and make you a proper cuppa the Langeoog way if we ever get to meet!

    I love visiting your lovely blog, and I want to thank you also for hosting this stop on the Sophie’s Run tour. I know you were worried about having to cook, but it turned out to be a home delivery straight to your door, all done and ready ~ hope you enjoyed that, too! Here’s wishing good luck to all giveaway entrants, and happy cooking, eating and reading! Rock on!!

    Like

  2. What a perfect combination – Kate and Nicky, Dan and Sophie, Scallops and Pancetta! I want some NOW (particularly as I have just started the diet-to-end-all-others!). Great idea to post these recipes and keep us coming back for more. x

    Like

  3. Oh yum. Those Scallops looked wonderful! I’ve been getting so many great cooking ideas from this tour! Thanks Nicky! Thanks very much Kate for the great review,

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

