Tide – Daniela Sacerdoti

Tide

“Sarah Midnight is no ordinary teenager.  She is a demon hunter, caught up in one of the deadliest wars unknown to man.  Orphaned at the age of sixteen, Sarah learned the family trade of hunting without her parents to guide her but under the watchful eye of her ‘cousin’, who was revealed to be Sean Hannay, no relative at all, but a dear friend of the real Harry Midnight.

Now the fight continues.  Sarah and Sean may have defeated the Scottish Valaya, but the rest of the war still rages on, and Sarah, Sean, Nicholas and their companions must unearth the identity and location of the enemy – the leader of the demons – before the world plunges into the Time of Demons once more.  Their quest leads them to Sarah’s family home, the Midnight mansion in Islay, and there they discover horrible truths about the demon ruler, his plans, and Sarah’s own personal history.

Along the way, Sarah must battle not only the demons but her hurt towards Sean and her feelings for the enigmatic Nicholas, who has plans of his own.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Black & White Publishing for sending me this paperback to read and give an honest review, I had really been looking forward to reading this after enjoying the first book in the trilogy Dreams, my review of which can be found here.

The story began with an interesting prologue which revealed a piece of Sarah’s family history, this was something that featured heavily throughout the book and I was pleased to have some of my leftover questions from Dreams answered.  After the prologue it picked up where the cliffhanger ending from last time had left off – Sarah was still being watched and Sean seemed to be stuck in some kind of uncomfortable limbo, until a surprise visitor turned up and told him something he really didn’t want to hear.

There were times when Sarah seemed lost and slightly bewildered by the events of her life, but her strength from the previous book definitely grew as she learned more about her history and this was great to see.  I felt unsure about Nicholas before and his behaviour this time around troubled me once again, when the truth about him was revealed I can’t say that I was too surprised because I had figured it would be something along those lines.  His plans for Sarah’s future were dark and unpleasant but despite this I found myself feeling sorry for him, particularly as the story progressed and I felt like I got to know him better.

The whole book had a mysterious feel to it and the author held my interest throughout with the many twists and turns in the storyline.  With new monsters and demons to defeat Sarah faced much more tragedy and in the midst of all this action was a hint of romance that was incredibly complicated but added a warm touch to the story.

Once again I enjoyed reading the characters inner thoughts, it really gave a clearer insight into the workings of their minds – you always discover the truth with those few little words.  I also loved how the author had created an exciting power for each member of the group of friends so that when they were together they seemed so powerful.

The visit to Islay was my favourite part of the book because it was where the story intensified – fierce battles were fought and shocking secrets were discovered, all of this seemed to change the direction of Sarah’s thoughts and gave her even more strength.

The author’s descriptive writing made it easy to visualise everything and I would love to see these books come to life as a movie.  I finished with a smile on my face and I’m full of anticipation about the next book, I just can’t wait to find out what happens next!

This was an action-packed and imaginative page turner which had me hooked from start to finish.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Daniela Sacerdoti is the bestselling author of Watch Over Me.  She was born and raised in Italy but has lived in Scotland for the past ten years.  Daniela holds a degree in Classics from the University of Turin and has taught Italian, Latin and Greek – her great-uncle was the renowned Italian writer Carlo Levi. She lives in Glasgow.

You can visit Daniela’s blog for more information or follow her on Twitter.

Tide was published by Black & White Publishing on 21 February 2013.  It can be purchased from The Book Depository, Amazon (Paperback or Kindle Edition) or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

