A Little Bit of Madness – Sheryl Browne – Blog Tour Including Giveaway

Today I’m excited to be taking part in the blog tour for A Little Bit of Madness by Sheryl Browne.  Thank you to Sharon from Fiction Addiction Book Tours for sending me the ARC.

Cover Front

No rest for the wicked

Saving Charlton Hall will burrow into your heart.

Celia Summers, intrepid mother of two, is too cuddly for sweatpants, she suspects. But then, her class at The Harbour Rest Home are similarly clad. Celia loves her work as an art therapist. She’s proud that she gives her elderly independents something to look forward to, even if her partner, Martin, disapproves of her efforts. He also has other things on his mind – telling complicated lies to Celia so he can sell Charlton Hall, his mum’s house, to pay off his debts.

Meanwhile, Celia fights to secure gallery space for her geriatric charges’ artwork, and to keep The Harbour from being closed. She’s even ready to abseil from a church steeple to bring attention to the plight of her old people, no matter that she might fall and end up splattered all over the flagstones. When she does fall, however, it’s much more painful – in love with PC Alex Burrows. Will he be her white knight in blue and ride to her rescue?”

I’ve read and enjoyed other books by this author (reviews here) and was looking forward to getting stuck into her latest release.

Straight away I got a sense of Celia’s caring nature as she taught therapeutic art to the elderly residents at The Harbour Rest Home.  On this particular day they were doing aerobics and I couldn’t help but laugh as I pictured the scene.

Martin didn’t get off to a great start in my eyes, I found that I really disliked him – I was amazed that Celia would be with someone like that considering how lovely she was.  The rest home residents on the other hand were absolutely delightful and I loved them all, they were a fabulously fun and outspoken bunch of characters who will stay in my mind for a long time!  Thanks to the natural writing style I quickly became part of the storyline and felt genuinely annoyed at the thought of the council closing down the rest home (cue very serious, annoyed face).

A scary accident led to Celia meeting the lovely Alex, a policeman (oh yes, in a uniform), and the two of them quickly became friends.  Alex was gorgeous (did I mention he wore a uniform) but he also had some personal issues that he was trying to cope with, quite honestly this just made me love him more and later on when everything came spilling out in a rather intense and dramatic way I was absolutely glued to the pages.

I began picking up clues of something that I thought might be revealed and when it turned out that my predictions had been correct I felt very pleased with myself!  This was a great twist in the storyline and I loved where it took the characters.

There were so many laughs to be had throughout the book but some of my favourites included a peonies misunderstanding, an abseiling nightmare, a hilarious protest (I was crying with laughter at this) and a house siege adventure.  I just loved how the author tackled many sensitive and difficult subjects but still managed to make it fun.

The further I read the more attached I got to all the characters, they were so real, relatable and with a hunky policeman thrown in for good measure – it never hurts to include a uniformed hunk in my opinion :).  I simply didn’t want the book to end, I wanted more from these wonderful characters so I’d be very happy to read a sequel!

A wonderful reminder of just how great the older generation can be, A Little Bit of Madness was just what I needed to brighten my day.

A Little Bit of Madness is available to buy now in the following formats: Amazon UK (Kindle Edition), Amazon US (Kindle Edition), Amazon US (Paperback) or from Safkhet Publishing.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sheryl Browne grew up in Birmingham, UK, where she studied Art & Design.

A partner in her own business, a mother and a foster parent to disabled dogs, Sheryl has also been writing for many years, the road along the way often bumpy.  She was therefore thrilled beyond words when Safkhet Publishing loved her writing style and commissioned her to write her debut novel.

RECIPES FOR DISASTER – combining deliciously different and fun recipes with sexilicious romantic comedy, is garnering some fabulous reviews and was shortlisted for the Innovation in Romantic Fiction Festival of Romance Award.  Sheryl has since been offered a further three-book contract under the Safkhet Publishing Soul imprint.  SOMEBODY TO LOVE – a romantic comedy centering around a single father’s search for love and his autistic little boy, launched July 1.  WARRANT FOR LOVE – blackmail, lies, adultery, entrapment – three couples in a twisting story that resolves perfectly – released August 1.  A LITTLE BIT OF MADNESS – white knight in blue rescues the Harbour Rest Home – released Valentine’s Day 2013.

AUTHOR LINKS

Sheryl’s Website

Safkhet Publishing

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Author Facebook     

Romantic Novelists’ Association

Sheryl is a loveahappyending featured Author and Editor.

Twitter: @sherylbrowne

GIVEAWAY

As an extra for the book tour the author is offering either a paperback copy or an ecopy of the book to one person who comments on any of the participating blogs – so if you leave a comment then you’ll be in with a chance!  The winner will be chosen by the author a week after the tour ends.

12 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Madness – Sheryl Browne – Blog Tour Including Giveaway

  1. Yay! Thank you sooo much, Kate! You have totally put a spring back in my wobbly little step (has definitely been one of ‘those’ weeks!! I love your ‘very serious, annoyed face’. Haw, haw. And I love that I made you laugh. Thrilled, utterly. 🙂 xx

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

