If This Is Paradise, I Want My Money Back! – Claudia Carroll

If this is paradise i want my money back

“Charlotte is hovering between life and death, but it’s taken a coma for her to realize she’d made a complete mess of her short time on earth.  Not to mention the five precious dating years she’s just wasted on the cheating, faithless James Kane.

But after a quick peek at the afterlife, she decides it’s not all it’s cracked up to be either.  So, when she is offered the chance to go back to earth, this time as a fully fledged angel, she jumps at it.  As always, there’s a catch.  The person she’s assigned to watch over is… a certain Mr James Kane.  And this is where the fun really starts.

Well just because she’s passed on it doesn’t necessarily mean she’s moved on, does it?”

I always enjoy books by Claudia Carroll (you can find some of my reviews here) and this was one that I hadn’t got around to reading so when it got to the top of my to-read list I was very excited!  I just love the title and the blurb sounded lots of fun too, I couldn’t wait to dive in.

The book began with Charlotte in a coma but very aware of her surroundings, I loved how the author made this serious subject so light-hearted and I found myself chuckling regularly.  Straight away I got a bad impression of James (her boyfriend/ex-boyfriend, I wasn’t too sure at this point) and I was hoping she would get the chance to repay him for the horrible way he had treated her.

A couple of twists later and Charlotte found herself facing an afterlife assessment followed by angel training, she was understandably confused and rather overwhelmed by everything but I found it highly entertaining especially with all the one-liners she kept coming out with.  I couldn’t wait for her to head back to earth and begin making mischief :).

Once on earth Charlotte had lots of fun messing around with James and I absolutely loved this part, I think I would have done the same if I had been in her shoes and his reactions to what she was saying was hilarious!  My favourite moments included a shock on the loo and an important but disastrous meeting.

It wasn’t all about revenge though, Charlotte also wanted to help those who had been important to her in life.  I didn’t think she went about it in the best way but her intentions were pure and I liked her for it. This part really got me thinking – I couldn’t help but imagine what I would do if I were in Charlotte’s position.

When everything came crashing down Charlotte found herself in trouble and had to make things right again, I could tell that her mindset had changed by this point and I wondered how she would do things differently.  Then came a really unexpected twist and by the end I just wanted to know more – I would love a sequel to this book!

This was a great book filled with funny one-liners and a storyline that pulled me in and wouldn’t let go.

If This Is Paradise, I Want My Money Back can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Claudia Carroll visit her website here.

2 thoughts on “If This Is Paradise, I Want My Money Back! – Claudia Carroll

Please Leave a Comment

