A Little Bit of Madness – Sheryl Browne – Cover Reveal Including Giveaway

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Today I’m excited to be taking part in the cover reveal for Sheryl Browne’s new book A Little Bit of Madness, and here it is:

Cover Front

No rest for the wicked.

Saving Charlton hall will burrow into your heart.

Celia Summers loves her job as an art therapist at The Harbour Rest Home, even if her partner, Martin, is disparaging of her efforts.

Martin, a solicitor, made speculative investments and needs to get his hands on his mother’s assets, her home, Charlton Hall, to bail himself out of debt. In order to sell the house, he has to get Rosemary re-housed at The Harbour Rest Home and tries to get Celia on his side with a fabrication of lies.

Meanwhile, Celia fights for gallery space for her charges’ artwork, and to keep The Harbour from being closed.

Police Constable Alex Burrows, son of Colonel Burrows, comes to her rescue when she crashes her car. Alex turns out to be considerate and caring with a witty, wicked, sense of humour, which makes Celia laugh, though when she learns of the circumstances surrounding his the loss of his wife, she wants to cry. She ignores his reputation as a womaniser. His trying to influence his father’s Will though, she can’t.  Alex, who little by little has stolen her heart, appears to be just as much a liar as Martin.

Despite all efforts, The Harbour is doomed to closure. Celia decides to take Rosemary home and forestall Martin’s plan to sell Charlton Hall. Celia is soon joined by the rest of her elderly independents, who rally together to stop Martin evicting them. Colonel Burrows is ready to thrash the enemy to death with his walking stick when his son arrives in his uniform. Alex explains that Colonel Burrows is the buyer of Charlton Hall and finally does what he’s been trying to do for ages: ask Celia to marry him.

A Little bit of Madness is due to be released on 14th February 2013 and will appear here on Me, My Books and I on 16th February 2013 as part of the fantastic book tour to celebrate its release.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sheryl Browne grew up in Birmingham, UK, where she studied Art & Design.

A partner in her own business, a mother and a foster parent to disabled dogs, Sheryl has also been writing for many years, the road along the way often bumpy. She was therefore thrilled beyond words when Safkhet Publishing loved her writing style and commissioned her to write her debut novel.

RECIPES FOR DISASTER – combining deliciously different and fun recipes with sexilicious romantic comedy, is garnering some fabulous reviews and was shortlisted for the Innovation in Romantic Fiction Festival of Romance Award. Sheryl has since been offered a further three-book contract under the Safkhet Publishing Soul imprint. SOMEBODY TO LOVE, a romantic comedy centring around a single father’s search for love and his autistic little boy, launched July 1. WARRANT FOR LOVE, Blackmail, lies, adultery, entrapment – three couples in a twisting story that resolves perfectly – released August 1.

To find out more about Sheryl Browne click the following links:

Sheryl’s Website

Safkhet Publishing

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Author Facebook

Romantic Novelists Association

Sheryl is a loveahappyending featured Author and Editor.

Twitter: @sherylbrowne

LOVE QUESTION

As part of this cover reveal the author and hosts have been answering questions related to love, my question was:

What is the silliest thing you’ve done to impress a man?

Sheryl – Boarded the loft. Picture the scene: 5ft 2ins me, heaving 40 panels of tongue and groove chipboard (each one the equivalent of my own bodyweight) up a ladder and through a 3ft x 4ft hole in the ceiling (Please note ladder is propped precariously at entrance in absence of actual loft-ladder, which is a job on man’s To-Do-sometime list). Yes, I completed the task solo, each panel neatly screwed and fixed, loft insulation not too squished. No pipes or wires punctured. Good job, well done. Ahhh, sweet satisfaction. Then I knocked myself out on a beam.

Later: Man appears and pokes his head around lounge door, where I sit on the sofa incapable of moving anything but my eyeballs. ‘You all right?’ he asks, his brow furrowed in puzzlement.

‘No,’ I mumble and wince, speaking almost too strenuous for my battered body. ‘I boarded the loft.’

‘Oh,’ he says, obviously noting the pain etched into my face. ‘So what’s wrong?’

Moral of story: If a plug needs changing, girls, bat your eyelashes and pass him the screwdriver.

Me – I was 17 and about to enjoy a takeaway Chinese meal with my boyfriend of a few weeks.  At this point in our relationship everything I did when he was around was aimed to impress him so in hindsight maybe leaving my plate of food on the floor wasn’t the best idea (can you see where this is going?).

I went out of the room to get us some drinks and had been considering how I could walk in a more sexy/seductive way.  When I returned I was strutting my stuff with a sexy new walk so imagine my horror when I stood straight in the middle of my food!

My boyfriend thought it was hilarious but being a gentleman he did offer to share his food with me. Needless to say I dropped the idea of a sexy walk and never again left a plate of food on the floor.  The shameful episode clearly didn’t do our relationship too much harm though as we went on to get married and 13 years later we still laugh about it 🙂

The lesson to be learned from this – a sexy walk is fine as long as there are no plates of food on the floor!

Visit Fiction Addiction Book Tours to find out where the next stop on the tour is!

GIVEAWAY

As an extra for the cover reveal the author is offering either a paperback copy or an ecopy of the book to one person who comments on any of the participating blogs – so if you leave a comment then you’ll be in with a chance!  The winner will be chosen by the author a week after the tour ends.

84 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Madness – Sheryl Browne – Cover Reveal Including Giveaway

  1. GORGEOUS COVER, Sheryl ~ wonder where you found this quirky, fabulous model??? Haw haw haw, I was there, I remember it well. Good luck with the cover reveal and the launch, wishing you every success!

    Silliest thing I’ve ever done to impres a man? Oh God, where to start? I won’t go into BJ-style underpants moments but how’s this: I once let myself be raced around the town centre in a shopping trolley, simply because he thought it was a good idea. My backside was bruised for days, LOL!

    Like

  2. OMGod! Never mind the food, or the boyfriend. What about the shoes?? Or did you wave a hand airly and tell him you didn’t mind about the shoes, thus confirming to him he had found someone unique and special? Haw, haw! Love it! Thanks so much for hosting me today, Kate! Have a lovely day! 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. Luckily they weren’t my favourite shoes, I may have cried if that had been the case 😀 I’m extremely impressed that you even attempted to board the loft, I wouldn’t know where to start and as for his ‘so what’s wrong?’ comment – typical man response LOL.

      It’s a pleasure to have you on my blog today, enjoy your cover reveal week (I’m looking forward to reading the other questions/answers) 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Great cover! Silliest thing I ever did to impress a man? I spent a whole winter going to watch Bradford Northern Rugby League club, now known as Bradford Bulls, because the guy was a season ticket holder. I watched not understanding the rules of the game. In the freezing cold weather every Sunday all through the winter of 1993 and the guy is now my husband and I still do not understand the rules of Rugby League lol x

    Like

  4. OMG! Every time I see this cover I burst out laughing. I’m ordering it just so I can have that fabulous model on my night stand! Best of luck with the reveal today, Sheryl! You deserve every success. 🙂

    Like

  5. Glad it is not just me on the rules of Rugby League! I did come up with what I thought would be the perfect way of staying warm at the Rugby matches. I put on what we now call oneses (now how do you spell that, you know what I mean those PJs that look like babygrows) under my clothes. Oh yes I was lovely and warm, so warm infact I passed out in the crowd and was rushed to the medical room by St John people. In the room I was suppose to be seen by a doctor and the doctor and my date were too busy watching the Rugby from out of the window in the room! So the nice St Johns man said he would take me to hospital, because they needed to find what caused me to faint. I had not the heart or courage to tell him or my date the real cause was due to what I thought was a remarkable brainy idea of keeping warm. So I managed to convince him that after the sweetie he had given me for my blood sugur levels, I now felt super!!!

    Like

    1. OhMIGOD!! Now I’ve nearly wet my onesies! Or are they longjohns?? I’ve done exactly the same!! Not fainted, worn them. I didn’t pass out in front of the St John’s man, tho. However, if he’d been a bit of a hunk…? Hmm? Blood sugar levels…! That is totally HILARIOUS, Nikki! Love it! 🙂 xx

      Like

      1. Onesies! That is how you spell it. ( I had writers block, which techinically for a reader is good eh!!!!) Not a hunk in this case the St Johns guy, but a very sweet older gentleman x

        Like

  6. Really eye catching and colourful cover for your book. Love it! Much Success with your book SHERYL. I will look forward to reading it!!!!! Love janicexxxxxxxxxxcxx

    Like

  7. I am so glad that you all like the cover! phew…
    the silliest thing I have ever done to impress a man? Well, let me think. Ah yes, I walked up to my boss and told him “I quit”. No, he was not the man I wanted to impress… and I don’t think I did anyway. Rather shocked he was. He actually asked me if I was nuts to leave this fantastic job and whether I wanted more money. What did I say? “No, thanks. I must move to Texas and because you have no office there that wants me, I quit!”
    Off home I went, packed my stuff, shipped my dog and flew to Texas. Married seven days after I arrived (in a flimsy green dress and white linen shoes because the wedding dress I had bought for the occasion was still in the move somewhere on the ocean) and have not regretted it since. But that doesn’t stop people from calling me silly (mostly for leaving that really well-paid ultimately boring job I had) and impress my man I did as well…

    Like

      1. thank you! I don’t think it was silly either, but some people gasped and said “What? you are giving up that type of job/money for some guy in Texas?!” They did not know what they were talking about, obviously…

        Like

  8. Adore the cover! Adore the book! Adore the author! lol. The only thing I can think of that I ever did to impress a man was that I was determined to wear a super sexy dress but my bra wouldn’t stay in place and kept poking out the dress. So, I sewed the bra in place inside the dress. Unfortunately when it came to getting out of my dress, errr quickly, I forgot my boobs were sewn in and almost ended up being hung by my bra! Sexy moment disappeared completely! lol

    Like

    1. Oh, now, Edel!!! I hae to admire you for that, I used to be (I mean, moving house and getting strange men in off the street – to kill the spiders, obviously ;)). I took a cognitive therapy course eventually because I was just sooooo terrified, I couldn’t cope. It did help. But!!! My ex only gave my son tarantula skins (I can hardly bear to type this) when my phobia was at its height. Now you know why he’s my ex. Haw, haw! Kudos to you for trying. God, I know how hard that must have been. I hope it worked! Um, maybe it didn’t. You have to tell me! I have a scene in my book ‘Warrant for Love’ on the very same subject. My macho hero admits he’s terrified of spiders, too, rather than embarrass the girl he hopes will fall in love with him. Ahhhhh. Now that’s a man in my book (forgive pun)! Thanks for sharing, sweetie! 🙂 xx

      Like

    2. Oh my goodness I’m also terrified of spiders! Last year I faced my fear and held a tarantula at the zoo – I was shaking like a leaf and closed my eyes for most of it but felt so proud that I had done it! It didn’t cure me unfortunately and I still run scared whenever a spider is in the house 🙂

      Thank you for visiting my blog Edel

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

