Wake – Amanda Hocking

Wake

“Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Thea and Lexi have caught everyone’s attention, including the eye of practical Harper.  But it’s her sister, Gemma, they’ve chosen.  Sixteen-year-old Gemma seems to have it all – carefree, pretty and falling in love with the boy next door.  But her greatest passion is the water.  She craves solitary late-night swims under the stars, where she can belong to the sea. But lately she’s had company.

Penn, Thea and Lexi spend their nights dancing and partying on the cove, and one night Gemma joins them.  She wakes, groggy, on the beach the next morning and knows something has changed.  Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster and more beautiful than ever.  And as she discovers her new mythical powers, Gemma is forced to choose between staying with those she loves – or entering a dark world brimming with unimaginable secrets.”

I’m a big fan of Amanda Hocking’s books (you can find my reviews here) and I’ve really been looking forward to finding out where this new series would take me.

The prologue seemed dark and a little bit scary and I wasn’t expecting this at all, in fact the whole book was a lot darker than I thought it would be.  When sisters Harper and Gemma were introduced it was clear that there was some friction between them, they had very different personalities and Harper seemed motherly towards Gemma (the reasons for this were explained further into the story).  I was keen to see how things would evolve for them throughout the book.

There were a couple of relationships in the storyline, firstly between Gemma and Alex (boy next door) and also Harper and Daniel (a guy who lives on a boat), out of the two couples I felt more interested in Harper and Daniel and I’m really looking forward to seeing how that progresses in the next book.

The mysterious three girls – Penn, Thea and Lexi – were what made this book so eerie, although I had figured out what they were I couldn’t wait for the moment to arise when all would be revealed.

I struggled to get into the first half of book, it just took too long to capture my interest and felt a bit flat.  I was disappointed by this because I really do love the other books by this author, I suppose I had expected to feel the same as I did for her previous series (completely hooked from the very first page).  However, the second half was where it got exciting – I found myself speeding through the pages to find out what would happen so in the end my faith was restored.

The night that changed everything for Gemma was strange and when it was mixed with the disappearances of local boys and girls I just knew something dark and deadly was going on.  The mythological story told by Penn was interesting and answered many of the questions that I had swirling around in my mind.

The ending really captured my interest and I’m now quite excited about reading the next book Lullaby which is already on my to read pile.

This was an eerie book that unfortunately took a while to get going, but once it did it was fantastic!

Wake can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Amanda Hocking visit her blog.

3 thoughts on “Wake – Amanda Hocking

Please Leave a Comment

