The Wedding Guests – Meredith Goldstein

The Wedding Guests

“One wedding.  Five nightmare guests.  Five ways to ruin the happiest day of someone else’s life:

Cry uncontrollably over your ex in front of the bride and mix calming herbal remedies with copious amounts of alcohol so that it’s hard to stand up – especially if you’re a bridesmaid.

Dress like you are attending a funeral and look for opportunities to re-enact scenes from steamy novels.

Turn up late wearing a T-shirt covered in mud and something that looks like blood.

If you are the bride’s uncle, whom no one likes anyway, try to cop off with her friend who’s way too young for you.

Wear a suit that stinks of chicken wings and then spend the whole reception propping up the bar.

Who said going to a wedding solo couldn’t be fun?”

I was lucky enough to win this paperback book from a giveaway on Jera’s Jamboree.  The blurb sounded different and funny so I was looking forward to reading it.

I always enjoy books about weddings but that’s probably because my own wedding was done and dusted years ago and I don’t have those kind of worries any more.  This is the reason the first part of this book made me smile – the bride was arranging the seating plan and she was struggling to fit the singles (those going to the wedding unaccompanied) into the free spaces.  This was the only part of the book about the bride herself, the rest was told from each of the singles viewpoints.  I found this refreshing as most wedding books revolve around the bride and groom, although seeing as the book is called The Wedding Guests I really should have seen that one coming :).

As I had predicted from the blurb there were lots of laughs to be had, I liked each of the characters – Hannah’s constant casting of the people around her, Vicki’s reading secret, Rob’s love of his dog, Phil’s caring nature and Joe’s hopeful but unrealistic dreams.  It was when they all blended together that I enjoyed it the most and I found myself completely caught up in all the goings on.

The wedding and reception were so entertaining and I flew through the pages just so I could see what would happen next (I somehow managed to finish this in just a few hours).  A discovery in the dark when the reception was nearly over had me cringing and laughing in equal measure!

The only issue for me was that the ending didn’t really wrap everything up as I would have liked, I still had some unanswered questions and felt like there should have been more to it.

This was an unexpectedly quick read that was light-hearted and enjoyable.

The Wedding Guests can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Meredith Goldstein visit her website.

4 thoughts on “The Wedding Guests – Meredith Goldstein

Please Leave a Comment

