Nobody’s Damsel – E.M. Tippetts

Nobody's Damsel

“Chloe and Jason are back in Albuquerque for her new job as a forensic scientist with the Albuquerque Police Department, only, her first case is a crime against a child.

Back when she was a childhood crime survivor, it never occurred to her how difficult it was for the adults working against the clock, fighting for control of the outcome. Add to this a tabloid scandal that claims Jason is having an affair with his costar, and Chloe’s struggle to come to terms with a heartbreaking case gets splashed all across the headlines.”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me an ARC to read and give an honest review.  This is the sequel to Someone Else’s Fairytale which I reviewed here.  I had wanted to know what happened next in Chloe’s life so was excited to find out that this sequel had been written, I was even more excited to learn that the author plans on turning this into a series!

This time around Chloe and Jason were facing the kind of obstacles that I would imagine any kind of celebrity romance would face – rumours of cheating, press intrusion and work commitments etc.  The cheating rumour was like a big question mark hanging over the story, I didn’t want to believe that Jason was not being faithful because I really liked Chloe but the signs weren’t looking good.

The style of writing was comfortable and I quickly found myself back in Chloe and Jason’s world, I loved Chloe’s new career as a forensic scientist because it gave an edge to the storyline and after what had been revealed in the previous book it made complete sense to me.

This was much more intense than the first book and I enjoyed the criminal side to it even though there were some parts that I found difficult to read.  One particular moment had tears running down my face because I had become so caught up in what was going on in the storyline.  It was an extremely difficult subject to tackle but I felt that the author handled it perfectly with just the right amount of detail.

There was a screen play running throughout the chapters which was clearly based on the main story – this confused me to begin with and it wasn’t until near the end that I fully understood what this was all about, it was a clever way of bringing Chloe and Jason’s careers together.  Combining the worlds of a celebrity and a forensic scientist was brilliant and I really enjoyed it when the two blended together, the idea of celebrity connections helping to solve a case was fantastic in my opinion.

I didn’t think there was as much romance in this book but it didn’t matter because it was just as compelling, I couldn’t stop reading and actually ended up finishing it in just a few hours!  I’m looking forward to the next in the series and seeing where life takes Chloe and Jason next.

This was a gritty and enjoyable book that gripped me from the very first page.

Nobody’s Damsel is released today and is available to buy from Amazon UK
and Amazon US.

To find out more about E.M. Tippetts visit her Blog, Facebook page or Twitter page.

Please Leave a Comment

