Unsticky – Sarra Manning

Unsticky

“Money makes the world go round – that’s what twenty-something Grace Reeves is learning.  Stuck in a grind where everyone’s ahead apart from her, she’s partied out, disillusioned, and massively in debt.  If she’s dumped by another rock-band wannabe, squashed by anyone else at her cut-throat fashion job, or chased by any more bailiffs, Grace suspects she’ll fall apart…

So when older, sexy, and above all, wealthy art-dealer Vaughn appears, she’s intrigued against her will.  Could she handle being a sugar daddy’s arm-candy?

Soon Grace is thrown into a world of money and privilege, at Vaughn’s beck and call in return for thousands of pounds in luxurious gifts, priceless clothes – and cash.  She’s out of her depth.  Where’s the line between acting the trophy girlfriend, and selling yourself for money?  And, more importantly, whatever happened to love?”

I bought this book because I had really enjoyed two other books by the same author (you can find my reviews here), they were both books that stayed in my mind long after I had finished reading them and I assumed I would enjoy this one just as much.  How wrong could I have been – this was even better and I couldn’t get enough of it!

The opening chapter set the scene well, it caught my attention fully and made me want to know more about Grace and the mysterious Vaughn.  As I read on I decided that I really liked Grace, she had been dealt some difficult blows and didn’t always handle her problems in a good way (hiding overdue credit card bills in a box and ignoring them is definitely not the best way forward), there was something about her that I liked though and I found myself hoping everything would work out well for her.

Vaughn was an interesting character, not only was he a sexy, rich man but he was also moody and bossy – I guessed there were parts of his life that had affected the way he treated and reacted to others. Grace referred to ‘Vaughn World’ a few times and I felt this summed it up perfectly – it was like he lived in a bubble (an expensive bubble!).  I became concerned over the whole agreement/contract idea but I was pleased to find out that it didn’t go down the route I began to think it would and it ended up being a fascinating part of the book for me.

Like the other adult books Sarra Manning has written, this was quite sexual but in a very good way – she really knows how to write sexy and write it well, it didn’t seem to overshadow the actual storyline in any way.

I loved the fashion side of the book, designer handbags, heels and sparkly dresses helped create the expensive feeling that ran throughout.  I found myself swept along by Grace’s crazy life, there were times when I laughed, times when my eyes filled with tears and times when I felt rather angry, this book caused a rollercoaster of emotions within me.

Towards the end there were some unexpected twists and turns so that I wasn’t sure which way it was going to go.  I just loved every minute of this book and even though there were 562 pages I still didn’t feel ready for it to end!  Grace and Vaughn are a couple who will stay in my mind and I would love to read more about what happened next for them.

This book was completely unputdownable, I would definitely recommend it and I look forward to reading more from this fantastic author.

Unsticky can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Sarra Manning visit her website.

One thought on “Unsticky – Sarra Manning

Please Leave a Comment

