The Glimpse – Claire Merle

The Glimpse

“In the not so distant future, society has been divided into Pures and Crazies, according to the results of a DNA test.

When Ana finds out there was a mistake with her test, her whole world crumbles.  Now, Pure-boy Jasper is her only hope of salvation.

But when Jasper disappears, Ana is distraught.  She sets off on his trail, determined to solve the mystery of his abduction.  In doing so she uncovers some devastating truths, but she also learns to love as she has never loved before…”

I bought this book after reading some interesting reviews about it, I was intrigued by the blurb and seeing as I like to occasionally dip my toes in the dystopian pool I went ahead and got it.

I was aware that some people had a problem with the whole Pure and Crazies idea, finding it offensive towards those with mental health issues – I honestly didn’t have any problems with this (and I do have personal experience of mental health issues so I understand the subject very well), in my eyes it was fictional and I enjoyed it for what it was.

I admit that I struggled with the first few pages purely because I couldn’t quite grasp what was going on. It was based in a future England which had been divided into the Pures and Crazies, they lived separately and very differently!  I was fascinated by the binding and joining ceremonies, I loved this alternative and creative idea of marriage.

Ana was kind of caught in the middle of being Pure and being a Crazy but as her life spiraled out of control she seemed to grow in strength and confidence – I love it when a character finds themselves in the most unexpected of places.  There were many lies and dark secrets for Ana to uncover and as she did so she became much more determined not to be dictated to.  Her time in Three Mills Psych Centre was unpleasant and difficult to read at times but it gave the storyline a gritty edge that I hadn’t expected.

The romance side of the story was simple but beautiful, it felt natural yet exciting – forbidden love is always a favourite of mine when I’m reading.  It ended on a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to see what happens for Ana in the next book.

This was a refreshingly different and exciting book which had me completely caught up in its pages.

The Glimpse can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Claire Merle visit her website.

3 thoughts on “The Glimpse – Claire Merle

Please Leave a Comment

