Bad Angels – Rebecca Chance

Bad Angels

“Limehouse Wharf is the new, uber-luxury apartment building in Canary Wharf where celebrities who’ve had ‘work’ done hole up until they have healed.  It’s Christmas, and Melody Dale, an actress whose career is in tatters after ill-advised plastic surgery has fled LA to get her body, and her boyfriend, back.  But a ‘well-meaning’ friend might be about to sabotage all of her Christmas plans…

Meanwhile, Aniela Fatyga, the nurse in residence, finds herself falling for the unlikely Jon Jordan, an assassin for hire who is also convalescing there.  Will their sizzling relationship become something more?  And who is he on the run from? And then there’s the oligarch, Grigor Khalovsky, the owner of Kensington football team, whose legendary Christmas party is about to get a whole lot more exciting as scandals. blackmail and murder are exposed.

It’s going to be a Christmas like no other.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Sophie at ed pr for sending me this paperback book to read and give an honest review.  I was really looking forward to getting stuck in after reading and enjoying Bad Girls and Killer Heels (review here) by the same author.  I love the distinctive covers on books by Rebecca Chance but this is my particular favourite as the heels are very similar to a pair I have in my own shoe collection.

Set over the Christmas period, I quickly fell into the storyline.  The characters were all appealing which made me want to know more about them – Melody seemed very lost and lonely and after reading about her life I instantly cared about her welfare, I just wanted things to go as she had planned.  Aniela was fab, she was a straight-talker who ended up being one of my favourite characters, her reaction to Jon was very amusing and I found myself hooked on their relationship throughout the whole book. Grigor’s obsession with Christmas was brilliant, he regularly made me smile with his festive singing and Christmassy decorating.

Something else I really enjoyed were the inner thoughts – I always like to know what a character is thinking and what isn’t being said so this was a perfect addition for me.  The book gave an interesting insight into the sleazier side of acting/football and the fascinating yet dangerous world of an assassin, the author successfully mixed all of these different scenes together and made it feel normal!  The gathering on Christmas day was a good example of this, I loved seeing how everyone’s lives began to intertwine.

The ending was really fast-paced and action-packed, it made my heart beat faster as I pictured the exciting scene unfolding before me and I wondered if it would finish in the way I hoped it would.

This bonkbuster is not for the faint-hearted, it contains in-depth sexual scenes of all kinds including gay sex, this is something that I haven’t come across in many of the books that I’ve read but it was all well written and just added to the overall effect of the book.  The author tackled many difficult subjects with ease and I was pulled into this dark yet glamorous world as though I had always been there.

This is an alternative Christmas read with a dark and sexual edge, perfect for fans of the increasingly popular erotica genre.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Born in North London, Rebecca Chance read English Literature at Cambridge and wrote for various newspapers and music magazines before moving to Tuscany to learn Italian and to focus on writing books.  After eight years in Italy, she moved to Manhattan, where her experience of the New York dating scene inspired her non-fiction dating book Jane Austin’s Guide to Dating, which was featured on the Richard and Judy Book Club and published under the name Lauren Henderson.

Now back in the UK, Rebecca lives in London with her husband and has quickly made the bonkbuster genre her own, bringing the genre ‘bang’ up to date and, reflecting the trials and tribulations of both women and men, gay and straight, as she hones in on the outsized dreams and desires that we all covet.  Rebecca Chance’s bestselling novels include Divas, Bad Sisters, Bad Girls and Killer Heels.

You can visit Rebecca’s website for more information.

Bad Angels was published by Simon & Schuster on the 8th November 2012, it can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

Please Leave a Comment

