The Quintessential Gemini – Linn B. Halton

“Katherine Dale lives her life according to her horoscope. When Katherine finds James has been writing her daily horoscopes rather than Mark, Katherine’s life explodes in confusion as the three lives become inextricably tangled. 

Now Katherine has to learn that the stars might be telling her that love is going to feature in her life

None of the men in her life are love interests – so what exactly does fate have in store?”

I was lucky enough to win this eBook from a giveaway on Jera’s Jamboree, I loved the sound of it and was looking forward to getting stuck in especially after reading and enjoying The Restaurant @ The Mill by the same author.

Immediately upon starting this book my mind was filled with questions – Why was it day one of the rest of Katherine’s life? How did she fall over? Why was the cat called No.4? and so on.  Obviously I had to find out the answers so I kept on turning those pages and found the explanations I required.

The astrology side of the book was fascinating for me, as was Katherine’s addiction to reading her horoscopes – I couldn’t imagine making any decisions based on my horoscope let alone an important one!  One particular sentence summed up her feelings nicely:

“It’s not that I can’t make a decision; it’s more that I’m scared of making the wrong decision.”

The writing style was comfortable and there were many fun, laugh out loud moments, a few of my favourites being an awkward dinner party, some heated emails and a journey into writing that led to unexpected and, at times, unwanted attention!

James was wonderful, his thoughtfulness and romantic nervousness endeared him to me and the things he did for Jake, his elderly neighbour, were truly lovely to read about.

And now I move on to No.4, Katherine’s cat, and I have to say that for me he was the star of the book! The relationship between him and Katherine was brilliant and something I could totally relate to because I’m just the same with my pets 🙂

A lot of major things happened all at once towards the end so that when I put the book down it took a minute for my brain to catch up!  A sad event made my heart sink, followed by an unexpected announcement that made it lift again and finally a big question which didn’t quite happen because this was when the story ended (my heart didn’t know what to do at this point).

So after drawing my own conclusions, all in all this was an enjoyable and entertaining read.

The Quintessential Gemini can be purchased from Amazon UK or Amazon US.

To find out more about Linn B. Halton visit her website here.

8 thoughts on “The Quintessential Gemini – Linn B. Halton

  1. Ah Kate, this was an amazing surprise for me today and I thank you so much for taking the time and trouble of posting a review. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it and I’ll let you into a secret – there will be a second book. No. 4’s story has yet to unfold … he’s one amazing cat! Lxx

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

