Simply Irresistible – Rachel Gibson

“Georgeanne Howard leaves her fiancé at the altar when she realizes she can’t marry a man old enough to be her grandfather, no matter how rich he is. Hockey superstar John Kowalsky unknowingly helps her escape, and only when it’s too late does he realize that he’s absconded with his boss’s bride. This bad boy isn’t looking to be anybody’s savior but his own. Still, a long night stretches ahead of them—a night too sultry to resist temptation.

Seven years later, Georgeanne and John meet again. She is on her way to becoming Seattle’s domestic darling and he is past his hellraising days. Shocked to learn that he has a daughter, John’s determined to be part of her life. Georgeanne has loved John since the moment she jumped into his car, but will he risk the wrath of his boss, and one final chance at glory, to prove that this time his love will be everlasting?”

I’m a big fan of Rachel Gibson’s books, I’ve reviewed a couple of them here.  This particular book is the first in the Chinooks hockey team series so obviously I haven’t read them in order (highly unusual for me), I don’t think this matters though because they work so well as stand-alone books.

When I first read the blurb I thought it sounded similar to another of her books that I have read, it turned out that I was right because there definitely were quite a few similarities, however this didn’t affect my enjoyment of this book in any way.

Georgeanne was an interesting character – I felt sad when reading about her school troubles and I loved her southern charm.  I loved how much she talked and I could almost picture her babbling on in front of this masculine hockey player who really wasn’t much of a listener.  The connection between her and John was electric, they were complete opposites and I think that is what made them so interesting together.

My first impression of John was that he was arrogant and rude but there were hints at some kind of traumatic past which, when revealed, made me look at his behaviour in a new light.  The sexual scenes between John and Georgeanne were quite full on but I felt that it was appropriate and didn’t detract from the story.

Lexie was a brilliant character and reminded me so much of my own daughter, she was extremely cute and I loved how she wrapped her father around her little finger.  The pet shop incident was one of my favourite Lexie moments, it really got me giggling.

It may have been quite obvious where the storyline was heading but I enjoyed the journey nonetheless, there were times of sadness, laughter and sometimes anger, there were even a few ‘awwwww’ moments particularly towards the end – I wasn’t expecting such a romantic finish!

This was a fantastic read, another hit from Rachel Gibson.

I purchased Simply Irresistible for my Kindle from Amazon UK.

To find out more about Rachel Gibson visit her website here.

4 thoughts on “Simply Irresistible – Rachel Gibson

  1. I really like the sound of this! I love southern style books because usually the characters are very homely! I think I would enjoy this reading this, thanks for the great review! Oh, sorry I have been MIA lately, I just had a new baby so things are a bit hectic, lol! 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

