The Dating Game – Susan Buchanan

“Workaholic recruitment consultant, Gill McFadden, is sick of her friends trying to match-make for her. Up until now her love life has been a disaster and she’s going through a drier spell than the Sahara desert. She realises she has to act, as work keeps piling up and at this rate she will have retired before she has time for a relationship.

Seeing an ad on a bus one day, she decides to visit Happy Ever After dating agency. She quickly discovers men are like buses. They all come along at once. Unsure what her type is, Gill decides to keep her options open. Soon she has problems juggling her social life as well as her work diary. Will she ever strike the right balance?

Before long she is experiencing laughs, lust and… could it be love? But like everything in Gill’s life, nothing is straightforward and she ends up wondering exactly who she can trust.”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author (@Susan_Buchanan on Twitter) for sending me an ARC to read and give an honest review. The Dating Game is Susan’s second book (my review of her first book Sign of the Times is here) and is released today on Amazon UK and Amazon.com!

I love the colour of this cover (it matches my blog theme beautifully) and the design which fits in so well with the story. Once I began reading I got a real sense of fun and realness from it, Gill had some great friends who reminded me of friends in my own life and I loved the banter between them all.

Gill’s dating history was varied and interesting, this made me look forward to her future dates from the agency as I had a feeling they would be memorable. Reading the dating profiles was a fun part of the book for me – I’ve never been involved with any kind of dating agency so the whole idea was fascinating and my nosy side just loved it!

I enjoyed the parts told from the male point of view because I wanted to know what they all thought of Gill. To begin with I couldn’t decide which date I wanted her to choose but as things became more complicated there was definitely someone who I favoured.

I found myself chuckling out loud on a regular basis whilst reading this book, the trouser malfunction and flying food incident were particular favourites!

The descriptions were fantastic and enabled me to picture everything so clearly, the trip to Barcelona was especially good and I felt like I was there with them even though I’ve never been before. As with her previous book, Susan paid great attention to detail and this made the book feel more real – reading about all the lovely food had me reaching for the kitchen cupboards!

An unexpected twist made me feel very sad which was something I hadn’t expected from this book, it made me rethink my previous predictions about the ending and at that point I had no idea which way it would go. In the end I felt that it finished in a satisfactory way and I would love to know what happens next for Gill and her chosen man!

A fun book with likeable characters and lots of twists and turns.

To find out more about Susan Buchanan visit her blog or Facebook page.

5 thoughts on “The Dating Game – Susan Buchanan

  1. Only now that I have seen others’ comments, have I discovered you do have the facility for leaving them! I couldn’t find it on Fri or Sat!! Thanks everyone and thanks especially to Kate for having me on her blog and for such a wonderful review. Sooz x

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

