Underworld – Meg Cabot

“Pierce isn’t dead, not yet.

But John Hayden, lord of the Underworld, has taken her to the place where the spirits of the deceased gather.  He says it’s for her safety, to protect her from the vengeful Furies.  But could he have other reasons for keeping her close?

Pierce might be safe in the Underworld, but she soon learns that the people she loves back on earth are not.  Can she convince John to release her in order to save her family – or will the price he asks her to pay be too high?

How can she persuade him to let her go?”

This is the sequel to Abandon which I read and reviewed here.  I loved the stunning cover and couldn’t wait to start reading after the previous book had ended on a teasing cliffhanger.

The story picked up where Abandon had left off with Pierce safely locked away in the Underworld, she was dreaming a strange and upsetting dream which I didn’t really understand at that point, but as I read through the book it all became clear.

John was keeping more secrets from Pierce and I couldn’t figure out why seeing as he said he loved her so much.  I had mixed feelings about him, he was a very intense character (I suppose this makes sense considering he’s the lord of the Underworld) and part of me felt annoyed by his controlling nature. The other part of me loved how protective he was towards Pierce and I really enjoyed some of their romantic moments together.

I liked the addition of Hope and the other characters from the Underworld, this side of the story really fascinated me and I wished that they could have spent more time in Johns home because I wanted to know more about it.

They faced more danger from the Furies which managed to get my heart pounding every time, and whilst on a rescue mission Pierce learned more about John’s history – something which I hadn’t expected!

An awful twist near the end changed everything and resulted in another cliffhanger ending.  I have a feeling that this twist will cause many problems for John and Pierce in the next book Awaken which is due to be released in 2013.

This was a dark and fascinating one day read, I just couldn’t put it down!

Underworld can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Meg Cabot visit her website here.

Please Leave a Comment

