The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

“Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys.  Especially the ones from the local private school.  Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys.  And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.”

I had heard lots of good things about this book and, having enjoyed previous books by this author, I was really looking forward to reading it.

I’m pleased to say that I wasn’t disappointed because I loved this story!  Right from the very beginning I was hooked, the first sentence was brilliant:

“Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” 

This completely intrigued me, my mind was coming up with all sorts of reasons for her words and I couldn’t wait to read on.  It turned out that Blue came from a family of clairvoyants who had all predicted the same thing about her but I don’t think she truly believed it.

Blue’s aunt came to visit and there seemed something a little bit strange about her (other than her psychic abilities, obviously), I couldn’t quite figure out what it was that gave me that feeling but was sure that it would be revealed eventually.

Blue experienced an eerie encounter on St Mark’s eve and it seemed to be a definite turning point in her life, it made her look differently at things and question her surroundings.  There was a great moment later on when she unleashed her rebellious side and I really enjoyed that because I felt like she was becoming her own person at last.

The Raven Boys themselves were a strange group of complex characters, they all had complicated backgrounds and it took me a while to feel like I really understood them.  A strange twist later on in the book made me look at one of the boys in a very different way.

The romantic side of the story was not what, or with whom I had originally expected, it also felt very natural and not rushed in any way, this was a pleasant surprise!

It became very tense towards the end with lies being unearthed and discoveries being made, this took me right up to the very last sentence which was also fantastic and extremely intriguing – I have a feeling that an even more exciting journey lies ahead and I can’t wait to join them all on it!

This was a wonderful, magical story with a sinister edge.

The Raven Boys can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Maggie Stiefvater visit her website here.

2 thoughts on “The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

Please Leave a Comment

