Just Another Manic Mum-Day – Mink Elliott

“Roxy, Jack and daughter Joey, three, are building a new life for themselves in sunny Sydney, Australia, but Roxy’s finding it hard to settle down.  When she discovers she’s pregnant again, things become even more complicated – how will she cope with a second child?

Frustrated at the lack of places for stressed-out mums to go, Roxy and her new friend, Shoshanna, set up Just Another Manic Mum-Day – a cafe catering exclusively for parents.  But when an opportunity arises for Roxy to return to England, she realises just how much she misses home…”

I was lucky enough to win this paperback book from a giveaway run by @Btweenthesheets on Twitter.

I found out that this is a follow-up to the author’s first book The Pi**ed-Off Parents Club and I was a bit worried that I would struggle to keep up with it seeing as I hadn’t read the other book.  It turned out that I worried for no reason because this worked well as a standalone book with a few references to what had happened before but nothing that didn’t make any sense.

The main thing that I liked about this book was how easily I could relate to it with regards to the parenting side of it all.  I found myself nodding my head in agreement at some of the stresses that Roxy and the other parents went through.

Roxy seemed very unsure about the move to Australia but was willing to give it a good go, her daughter Joey was such a handful and I enjoyed their interactions because it reminded me of my own daughter!

I liked the way this book had been written – it was funny and natural, almost like chatting with an old friend.  I particularly liked the idea for the cafe and enjoyed following their progress as everything came together.  Most of the characters were likeable with the only exception being Isaac, I disliked him from the very start.

The book ended with a great message for parents and really made me think about my life with children, it’s very easy to take our lives for granted so it’s always good to have a moment to appreciate what we have.

This was a lovely read that made me laugh but also made me think!

Just Another Manic Mum-Day can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Mink Elliott you can visit her website here.

4 thoughts on “Just Another Manic Mum-Day – Mink Elliott

Please Leave a Comment

