The Morganville Vampires Book Three: Midnight Alley – Rachel Caine

“Morganville’s such a nice place to live… And die.  If you don’t mind that sort of thing.

When Claire Danvers learnt that her college town was run by vampires, she did what any intelligent, self-preserving student would do: she applied for a transfer and stocked up on garlic.  The transfer is no longer an option, but the garlic may come in handy.

Now Claire has pledged herself to Amelie, the most powerful vampire in town.  The protection her contract secures does little to reassure her friends.  All of a sudden people are turning up dead, a stalker resurfaces from Claire’s past, and an ancient bloodsucker extends a chilling invitation for private lessons in his secluded home.”

This is the third book in The Morganville Vampires series and with the previous book ending on such an exciting cliffhanger I couldn’t wait to get started on this one.

The book started off with the after-effects from all the drama in book two, Claire’s pledge fascinated me because I couldn’t figure out what Amelie wanted her for.  It was soon all revealed and I have to admit that I was surprised by what Amelie wanted Claire to do!

The group dynamics had definitely altered since Michael’s change – this was clear right from the start and I began to wonder if the friends would ever return to what they had before.  Shane had much more attitude this time around and seemed to be very angry all the time, this was a side of him I didn’t really like.

Myrnin was an interesting new character, he made me feel so nervous even just reading the book, and I was very concerned for Claire whenever she was in his presence.  He was completely crazy and unpredictable and he was written in such a way that it almost felt like I could feel his manic personality coming through the pages at me.

Jason (Eve’s brother) made a small appearance in book two but in this one he is much more heavily involved with everything.  He was another character who frightened me because of how unpredictable he was and I’m pretty sure we haven’t seen the last of him yet!

The end saw a couple of shocking announcements, firstly from Claire’s parents (I can’t wait to see how that turns out) and secondly from a mysterious stranger (which was definitely a gasp out loud moment), this all means that I’m very much looking forward to starting on book four.

This book took me to a much darker and scarier place than the previous books and I think it’s safe to say that I’m officially hooked on the series, I just can’t get enough of them!

Another heart-pounding one day read that completely captured my imagination.

Midnight Alley can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Rachel Caine visit her website here.

2 thoughts on “The Morganville Vampires Book Three: Midnight Alley – Rachel Caine

  1. So glad you are loving this series. It really does pull you in. Hannah at Once Upon A Time was my Morganville bully 😉 My only regret is that I waited so long to start it. Although, it does cut down on the wait time between books. 😉

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

