The Village Vet – Cathy Woodman

“In Talyton St George, vet nurse Tessa Wilde is on the way to her wedding…

It should be the happiest day of her life.  But then her car hits a dog, and though the dog is saved thanks to Otter House vets, her wedding is not.

Animal welfare officer and part-time fire-fighter Jack Miller spends his life saving animals and people.  As one of Tessa’s oldest friends, he feels he has the right to interrupt her wedding and rescue her from a marriage that can only end in tears.

But does he? Tessa is sure she doesn’t need rescuing, least of all by Jack.

When they begin to work together at the Animal Rescue centre, however, Tessa begins to wonder whether being rescued by Jack might not be such a bad thing after all.”

Having read and enjoyed other books by this author (review of It’s a Vet’s Life here) I couldn’t resist buying this one which is number five in the Talyton St George series.

Before the story begins there is a little map of Talyton St George, this is something that I really like because it gives me a clearer picture in my mind of where everything is.

The only issue I have with books about vets is that I find it very difficult to read about hurt/injured animals, even fictional ones, so seeing as this book started off with a dog being hit by a car I kind of felt like I couldn’t read on.  Obviously I did carry on reading and I’m glad I did because, as always with books by this author, the personal lives of the villagers are so entertaining that I can forgive a little bit of upset and tears over the animals (I just have to keep reminding myself that they aren’t real!)

Tessa’s wedding day was brilliant, it was very eventful and ended with a bizarre confession from her great-aunt!  I was pleased when she decided to take on the running of the animal sanctuary as I felt it would be a fresh start for her, it certainly brought about a lot of changes in her life – some good and some not so good.

I really enjoyed reading about the day-to-day running of the sanctuary, having done some volunteer work at an animal sanctuary myself I loved all the memories it brought back.

The romance side of the story was good, the tension between Tessa and Jack was so exciting to read but just when I thought I had it all figured out something happened that completely shocked me!

There was also a sinister side to the story with Tessa being secretly watched and when all is revealed she found herself in quite a scary situation.

This is another fantastic read from Cathy Woodman, creating a mixture of emotions throughout.

The Village Vet can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Cathy Woodman visit her website here.

Please Leave a Comment

