The Morganville Vampires Book One: Glass Houses – Rachel Caine

“Welcome to Morganville. Just don’t stay out after dark.

Morganville is a small town filled with unusual characters – when the sun goes down, the bad come out.  In Morganville, there is an evil that lurks in the darkest shadows – one that will spill out into the bright light of day.

For Claire Danvers, high school was hell, but college may be murder.  It was bad enough that she got on the wrong side of Monica, the meanest of the school’s mean girls, but now she’s got three new roommates, who all have secrets of their own.  And the biggest secret of all isn’t really a secret, except from Claire: Morganville is run by vampires, and they are hungry for fresh blood…”  

I have heard lots of recommendations for this series so when I saw the first book in my local WHSmith for the bargain price of just £1 I couldn’t resist!

The book started with Claire discovering that her clothes had been stolen from the dorm washing machine, it turned out that a girl called Monica (and her gang of followers) had it in for Claire and wanted to teach her a lesson.  I was a little bit confused as to why Monica and her little gang were picking on Claire but that was soon explained.  I found Monica’s bullying of Claire throughout the book quite uncomfortable to read, especially when it was of a violent nature, but I also feel that it was necessary to show just what kind of character Monica was, and how far she would go.  Needless to say Monica was my least favourite character, she had such an evil streak and I have a feeling I’ll be seeing much more of her in the books to come.

The whole story had an eerie feel to it, I was on edge whilst reading it just waiting for something bad to happen.  It was particularly nerve-racking when Claire first arrived at the Glass House to have a look around at her potential new lodgings, I was sure there would be a vampire lurking in one of the rooms waiting to jump out on her!

Claire’s new roommates were interesting – Michael was so intriguing, he clearly had some kind of secret and I couldn’t wait to find out what it was.  When I did find out I was surprised because it wasn’t what I had expected.  I really liked Shane, he was very cheeky and he brought a hint of playfulness to the story.  I feel that there is a lot more to discover about Eve, she was definitely likeable but I thought that she may not be telling them everything.

Claire’s first encounter with a vampire was unnerving and scary, everything that happened after this moment was exciting and completely drew me in so that my heart was pounding in fear for her.  Towards the end the action really heated up and the story became very intense and even more scary, the fantastic cliffhanger ending had me yelling ‘noooooo’ at the book so I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one to see how it turns out.

This book had everything – shocks, betrayals, violence, a hint of romance and some scary, scary vampires.  A definite hit and another one-day read for me.

Glass Houses can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Rachel Caine visit her website here.

4 thoughts on “The Morganville Vampires Book One: Glass Houses – Rachel Caine

Please Leave a Comment

