Baby Be Mine – Paige Toon

“‘He’s not mine is he?’ That’s the question I fear the most.

You see, I have a secret.  My son is not fathered by my boyfriend, but by one of the most famous people that ever lived.  And he doesn’t even know it.

Meg is terrified.  She lives in the South of France with her doting boyfriend Christian and their beautiful son Barney who has just turned one.  Life should be idyllic.  But she is living a lie – a lie that will turn their lives upside down and inside out.  Because, as every day goes by, Meg’s son looks less and less like Christian.

How much longer can she keep her devastating secret from him, from their friends and family, from Barney?  How much longer before the whole world realises that the father of her child is none other than Johnny Jefferson, wild boy of rock, constantly in Meg’s thoughts?”

As you may or may not know I really love Paige Toon’s work, I love her addictive style of writing and fun sense of humour that always shines through in her books.  I picked this book up on my travels and didn’t realise that Johnny Be Good should actually be read first (unfortunately I don’t have this book in my ‘To Read’ pile).  Usually I wouldn’t dream of not reading books in order but I felt like being daring for a change (as daring as this bookworm can get) and I decided to read it anyway.

I’m pleased to say that it didn’t matter at all that I hadn’t read Johnny Be Good first, this book worked well as a standalone read but now I definitely want to find out exactly what happened in Meg and Johnny’s past, although not knowing certainly didn’t affect my enjoyment of this book.

The prologue really set the scene and made me want to know more, I was playing out all sorts of scenarios in my head just from this one page so I couldn’t wait to get stuck in.

Meg was a very confused character, she didn’t seem to know what she really wanted out of life and to be honest she was making a bit of a mess of things.  I’m not comfortable with people who lie and lying seemed to be a big part of Meg’s life so I did find parts of this book difficult to read.

All of the characters were very likeable, Dana being the only exception, and I loved the descriptions of France and LA because it made me feel like I was there with them (I wish)!

A tragedy marked a significant discovery in the book and from then on everything in Meg’s life changed, I felt so sad for all those involved and desperately wanted everything to turn out for the best.

All the scenarios that had played out in my head never happened and I enjoyed the fact that I couldn’t figure out what was coming next.  The ending was great and left me with a big smile on my face.

This is another hit from Paige Toon, an exciting page-turner that I read in less than a day.

Baby Be Mine can be purchased here with free worldwide delivery.

3 thoughts on “Baby Be Mine – Paige Toon

  1. Ooh, I’m new to Paige Toon’s work, but you definitely have me convinced. This sounds wonderful, I love it when an author can make you feel like you are actually in the place they are describing. Fab review, Kate, I think I will look this one up. 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

