Poison Heart – S.B. Hayes

“Who is the real Genevieve?

What are her secrets?

Why is she determined to destroy Katy’s life?

Wherever Katy turns, Genevieve is there – at school, with Katy’s friends, and worst of all, trying to seduce Katy’s hot new boyfriend.

Though popular with everyone else, Genevieve has a menacing side, a dangerous side that she only reveals to Katy:

I’m your worst nightmare

Is Genevieve simply a troubled girl with a difficult childhood? Or does something sinister, something unearthly, lie behind that beautiful smile?” 

I was lucky enough to win this book from a giveaway run by Bliss Magazine.

The dark and eerie cover really jumped out at me and I thought that the synopsis was intriguing so I was looking forward to reading it.

I was actually captured by the very first sentence:

“We were on the number fifty-seven bus when it happened – the moment that would change my life forever.”

This just got my mind working overtime wondering what could possibly happen on a bus to change her life forever, obviously I had to know more and from then on it just got better, spookier and darker!

I loved Katy, she wasn’t the most popular girl in school and she had a difficult home life but she was very likeable and I found that I could relate to her character in some ways (this is something that always makes a book more appealing to me).  I was pretty unsure about Merlin and even after I had finished reading I don’t think I ever truly felt comfortable about him.  Luke on the other hand was a hugely likeable character who was a great friend to Katy and was the only male in this story who made me smile.

I had so many questions about the mysterious Genevieve and it wasn’t until the very end that I actually felt like I understood her, the crucial information about her always seemed to be just out of reach.

I came up with a theory about half way through the book and there were times when I thought I had got it all wrong, eventually I realised that my theory was mainly correct but with a few little unexpected surprises.  The truth coming out was tense and quite emotional to read but it fitted the atmosphere of the book perfectly.

I’m not sure if the author plans on taking this story any further, I just had the feeling at the end that there should be more to it, it felt unfinished in some ways.

A captivating and dark tale that was a pleasure to read.

2 thoughts on “Poison Heart – S.B. Hayes

  1. First off congrats on winning this one, I adore the cover & I agree, the first sentence is intriguing! I like that this held some surprises for you & I am definitely going to pick up this dark tale in the near future. Fab review, Kate! 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

