The Love of My Life – Louise Douglas

“Olivia and Luca Felicone had known each other nearly all their lives, but when they fell in love as teenagers and eloped to London, they broke the hearts of those closest to them.

Luca’s parents run Marinella’s restaurant, the colourful hub of life in the otherwise bleak north-eastern seaside town of Watersford, and his mother, Angela, has never forgiven Olivia for causing such a rift in her beloved family.

On a freezing January night Olivia’s life is shattered when she learns that Luca has been killed in a car accident on the M1. She is left with nothing, and after suffering from weeks of overwhelming grief, she abandons her job and returns North to where Luca has been buried in Watersford, just to be close to him – even though she knows she will not be welcome at Marinella’s.

Olivia’s chance meeting with Luca’s married twin brother, Marc, leads to the realization that he is experiencing a loss almost as painful as her own. Their desolation draws them into an affair which both know has no future, but fills the space where Luca should be. It is a course of action that can only spiral out of control, and when it does, the consequences are both explosive and cruel.”

I bought this eBook after reading a ‘Caught my eye’ blog post on Jera’s Jamboree, it sounded so interesting and was such a bargain on Amazon that I went ahead and got it.

The prologue was intriguing and captured my interest straight away.  Everything seemed to happen very quickly at the beginning so I didn’t really get a chance to feel upset about the funeral (this was a relief because I thought I would cry my eyes out at that part), I just wasn’t emotionally involved enough at that time to feel sad.

The story switched comfortably between Olivia’s past and her present to give the reader a better understanding of why she behaved the way she did.  I enjoyed reading about Luca and Olivia’s relationship before the accident and also their history as children.  I was so curious about what Olivia had done to make the Felicone family dislike her so much.

In my opinion some of Olivia’s actions were selfish and this did annoy me about her, she seemed to act before she thought.  Even though a part of me could understand the reasons why she behaved like this, I did find those parts difficult to read.

There were some real heart-breaking moments that had my eyes filling with tears and other moments that had me feeling angry, in particular the headstone incident – I could almost feel Olivia’s rage jumping out of the page at me.

This was a sad and emotional book that I just couldn’t stop reading and it joins the many other one-day read books on my shelf.

You can follow Louise Douglas on twitter here.

3 thoughts on “The Love of My Life – Louise Douglas

  1. Fab review Kate. So glad you enjoyed it. This is Louise Douglas’ debut novel. Her second The Secrets Between Us is one of my top 10 2011 fictions reads. Can’t wait to read her latest, In Her Shadow 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

