The Restaurant @ The Mill – Linn B. Halton

“Age, relationships, and careers —we are all unique. Yet beneath the exterior facade we choose to show to the world at large, what do we have in common? The things we bury deep inside—the worries and fears we are unable to verbalize, and the hand fate takes in our lives is a common thread. Sometimes we fail to recognize in each other that innermost struggle on the path to true love. 

Six very different stories, six couples linked by The Restaurant @ The Mill, owned by Hilary Marks and Ben Adams. As the restaurant thrives the atmosphere is alive with conversation, snapshots of lives unfolding, each one a personal journey.”

Firstly I’d like to thank the author for sending me this e-book to read and review.  The Restaurant @ The Mill is available to buy now from Amazon.

I struggled to get into the story to begin with but I’m not sure if that was the books fault or because I had just returned from holiday, either way it didn’t last long and I was soon hooked by the characters and each of their personal stories, which were told through the seasons.

Hilary was a lovely character who was always there for others, she definitely gave off a caring agony aunt vibe.  She knew that Ben wasn’t telling her everything about himself and yet she still didn’t push him to open up, instead waiting for him to share when he felt ready.  It took me a while to figure Ben out, he was very quiet and reserved and this just made me want to know his secrets more!

I absolutely loved Sadie, even after a family tragedy she was still a happy and bubbly character and this made her really likeable to me.  I enjoyed watching her grow in confidence throughout the book as she came to some firm decisions about what she wanted out of life.

Thomas was a shrewd businessman but wasn’t so good with his personal life, the reasons behind this were something that I hadn’t expected and I liked that I hadn’t been able to figure it out before.

At times I found Charlotte and Nick’s story difficult to read but only because I felt so worried for them, they were struggling with their life together and I found myself really hoping things would turn out for the best between them.

Grace was an amazing character, tales from her past made me feel so sad and later on when things were starting to go right for her she received some devastating news that brought tears to my eyes.

I really enjoyed reading about Isobel’s first steps into writing fiction, it was fascinating to find out about the thought processes that go along with writing a book.  When she met Lionel I had a feeling that it would only end in disaster especially with David being around so much after his retirement.

On top of all these characters was the addition of a spirit called Sarah, she was a fabulous twist to the story and her tale was as interesting as the rest.  The epilogue was great, it was very different and really left me smiling!

This book covered some very difficult issues (bereavement, family rifts and an unplanned pregnancy to name just a few) but I felt that they were written well and with care, I feel confident that most people would be able to relate to at least one character and that is what makes this book so readable for me.

I loved how the individual stories tied together and made me feel personally involved with them all, also the descriptions of the mill and it’s surroundings enabled me to picture everything so easily.

This is a thought-provoking book that has everything from romance to ghosts, definitely worth a read!

To find out more about Linn B. Halton you can find her on Twitter or visit her website here.

16 thoughts on “The Restaurant @ The Mill – Linn B. Halton

  1. Hey, Kate, what a lovely, thoughtful review! I really enjoyed this book too and found myself pondering about the characters when I wasn’t reading. I loved how bits of the different stories intersected and connected though the restaurant setting, and I just wish that Ben and Hilary were really running a restaurant somewhere because it would be my favourite. Great review, congrats to Linn!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lovely comments Nicky 🙂

      I thought exactly the same thing about Ben and Hilary really running a restaurant and I have also found myself thinking about the characters, wondering how they’re getting on!

      Like

  2. I’m reading this book at the moment on my Kindle and enjoying how refreshingly different it is. I picked this book thinking it was a collection of short stories – but it’s much more than that – it’s like sitting at a table in the restaurant and dipping into the lives of a collection of people with a common thread, listening to their thoughts and feelings about love and life – and death too – with the ghost of the Mill! Highly recommended.I’m loving it.

    Like

  3. My goodness! I’ve been offline for just a few hours and I’ve arrived late to the party! A HUGE thank you for a really heart-felt review, authors always worry whether they have done the story justice and as a new writer this was quite a challenge for me. However, one I had to do because Grace & Lawrence and Sadie & Sam were in my debut novel Touched By The Light and I really felt I had to ‘complete’ their stories. Sometimes side characters are interesting too, and The Restaurant allowed me to explore where their lives would end up. Thank you all for the lovely comments, I’m off to Tweet (in between babysitting today …)! I have a big smile on my face now….

    Like

    1. Hi Linn, I’m glad you like my review! I agree that side characters can also be interesting, they can really make a difference to a book.

      Thank you again for sending me the ebook to read and for stopping by to comment 🙂

      Like

  4. Hi Kate! What a great review. I’ve been reading The Restaurant @ The Mill as well. It’s a wonderful book by a great storyteller. Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough and personal review!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

