A Very Accidental Love Story – Claudia Carroll

“Eloise Elliot is one of the youngest newspaper editors in the country.  She’s at the top of her game but on the eve of her thirtieth birthday she’s hit with a sharp pang of loneliness.  With dazzling clarity, she realises what she wants – someone to share her life with.

Fast forward three years and she is the adoring mother of a gorgeous little girl, Lily.  Juggling a high-powered job with single motherhood is not easy and when Lily starts asking about ‘daddy’ Eloise begins to panic.  What will she tell her?

So Eloise goes on a mission to find Lily’s father.  After all, she chose the perfect donor, surely there won’t be any surprises…” 

Firstly I’d like to thank Claudia Carroll and HarperCollins for sending me this paperback book to read and review.  A Very Accidental Love Story is released today!

I absolutely love the cover on this book and the synopsis really intrigued me so I couldn’t wait to get reading.

It starts with Eloise’s disastrous thirtieth birthday, being thirty is bad enough (I have that dreaded pleasure coming up in a few months) but the lack of friendly faces at the party makes her realise just how alone in life she really is.  There and then she decides to change things and three years later it seems she has done just that by having Lily.

My first impression of Eloise was that she was very strong and if she put her mind to something it would get done.  As the book progressed I began to see chinks in her armour, I actually enjoyed these moments that showed her to be a more sensitive character.

I love Claudia’s comfortable style of writing, whenever I read one of her books it feels familiar, almost like I’m chatting with an old friend.  The humour in this book (and her other books) is also very much my thing, in particular the hilarious insults, I found myself laughing out loud many times throughout the story.

Eloise was a newspaper editor and I enjoyed the interesting insight into that crazy and busy world.  It certainly seemed like a cut-throat business especially with Seth hanging around waiting for Eloise to make a mistake – he played the villain of the story perfectly.

I adored Lily, I could imagine her speaking in that cute little toddler voice and wrapping everyone around her finger.  I particularly enjoyed following Eloise as she tried to track down Lily’s father, I had my fingers crossed hoping she would be able to find him.

Jake was lovely, even though his life had been very different to Eloise’s they connected beautifully and really seemed to have a good effect on each other.

The real nail-biting moment for me came during an eventful work weekend away, after Shania’s funny ‘pearls of wishdom’ (that’s not a spelling mistake, you’ll understand if you read the book) things went downhill rapidly and Eloise had a lot of explaining to do.

I loved the idea for the story, it was a joy to read and definitely a page turner – I finished the book with a big grin on my face.

A Very Accidental Love Story can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Claudia Carroll visit her website here.

4 thoughts on “A Very Accidental Love Story – Claudia Carroll

  1. It’s a great feeling when a book spits you out with a grin on your face! I think this is definitely the book for me, I love the whole idea for the story too. I also am in love with that cover! Thanks for a fab review, Kate, I’m glad you enjoyed this! 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

