Destined – Aprilynne Pike

“Laurel lived happily as an ordinary girl – until she discovered that she was a faerie.

Since then her heart has been divided between the magic realm of Avalon and the human world.  Between the boys she loves the most; caring David and wild Tamani. But now a powerful enemy threatens Avalon and unless the faerie world can win out, there may be no choices left…

Laurel faces the fight of her life to save everything and everyone she loves in this spell-binding faerie tale of magic and mystery, romance and danger.”

Being the last book in this series I had a feeling there would be plenty of action in it, but I never imagined it would start so early on in the story and continue pretty much throughout the whole book!  It felt like I was holding my breath the entire time because it was so tense and exciting.

There were some really sad moments and incredibly touching scenes that kept me completely enthralled by the events unfolding in front of me.  There was an interesting addition that came in the form of Excalibur which added yet another magical twist to the story.

At one point an awful misunderstanding threatened to destroy the prediction I had made about the ending, this was definitely one of the moments that had me holding my breath.

Towards the end of the book it became a race against time and I could almost feel the panic and fear rolling out of the pages at me.  Once things had come to an end I thought I had it all figured out but then came ‘The Last Word’ – an extra section at the end, kind of like an epilogue, that I hadn’t expected at all.

Although not everything ended how I had hoped, I still felt happy with the conclusion and I can happily say that I thoroughly enjoyed this series.  Each book had me on the edge of my seat and kept me turning page after page trying to find out what would happen next.  I’m actually going to miss Laurel, Chelsea, David, Tamani and all the other lovely characters in these books.

Fantastic, magical and addictive books that I would highly recommend.

 To find out more about Aprilynne Pike visit her website here.

Please Leave a Comment

