He Loves Me Not… He Loves Me – Claudia Carroll

“In the heart of County Kildare is Davenport Hall – a crumbling eighteenth-century mansion house, ancestral home to Portia Davenport, her beautiful younger sister Daisy and their dotty,eccentric mother, Lucasta.  

Disaster strikes when their father abandons the family, cleaning them out of the little cash they had managed to hold on to.  But a ray of hope appears when Steve Sullivan, an old family friend and confirmed bachelor, suggests that they allow the hall to be used as the location for a major new movie.

So Davenport Hall is taken over by the crème de la crème, including the self-centred Montana Jones, fresh out of rehab and anxious to kick-start her career, and Guy van der Post, a major sex symbol with an eye for Daisy.  Throw in Ella Hepburn, Hollywood royalty and living legend, and soon there’s more sex and drama off camera than on!” 

You may or may not know that I am a huge fan of Claudia Carroll’s work, there are still a few of her books that I haven’t managed to read yet so when I saw this one (which is the first book she wrote) I simply had to buy it.

I got caught up in the story quickly, I love books with a celebrity twist in them and this certainly had plenty of that with Davenport Hall being used as a movie set.

I really fell in love with all the characters, they were wonderfully stereotypical and so much fun.  The eccentric Lucasta and straight-talking Mrs Flanagan were particular favourites of mine, their arguments were hilarious even though I got the feeling that deep down they were actually quite fond of each other.

Andrew was a very charming character and I loved the way he called Portia ‘my lady’.  Paddy was another funny character, the poem he wrote near the end had me in stitches.  There were many laughs to be had in this book, one of the funniest moments for me was when the Davenports went to their neighbours house-warming party – with Lucasta and Daisy as guests there was certainly no need for entertainment!

There were misunderstandings galore throughout the book and a couple of surprises that kept me on my toes, including one that occurred at a breath-holding auction.

This book does include some swearing which doesn’t bother me in the slightest but if you would be offended by it then maybe this isn’t a book for you.

Perfect escapism, this book is another great read from Claudia Carroll.

To find out more about Claudia Carroll visit her blog here

6 thoughts on “He Loves Me Not… He Loves Me – Claudia Carroll

  1. Great review. I haven’t read a Claudia Carroll book yet but I do have Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow in my tbr pile (been there a looooooong time). I will get round to it one day. I will.

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

