Abandon – Meg Cabot

“Last year Pierce flatlined following an accident.

During that time she saw a dark world and met a mysterious, irresistible boy.

Now that boy, John Hayden, has turned up at school.  Every time she sees him Pierce finds herself in terrible danger.  Yet she’s still drawn to him.

John wants to take her back to the place she fears the most: the Underworld.

The question is, why?”

This was a book that I had wanted to read for a while so I was excited to see that gorgeous cover when I was out on a shopping trip, obviously I couldn’t resist buying it!

I was intrigued right from the first page, this modern version of Persephone and Hades has a dark, dangerous feel to it that completely captured my interest and made it another one day read for me.

Reading about what happened to Pierce after her accident was fascinating, it was almost like I could feel her confusion and when she finally realised where she was, that confusion turned to fear.

There were hints of something that happened at Pierce’s previous school and I was relieved when I found out what it was, although I had kind of guessed what was involved I hadn’t predicted the details.

This book had so many intriguing factors, I think that is probably why I read it so quickly, coffin night was one of those factors – the whole idea made no sense to me when I first heard about it but once it was explained I could see it’s significance.

Just as the truth was being revealed and everything was making more sense the book ended, I wasn’t ready for it to finish but I suppose that’s the idea because now I’m really looking forward to the next instalment Underworld and I’m also looking forward to reading more from Mag Cabot.

A dark and intriguing story that I just couldn’t put down.

Abandon can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Meg Cabot visit her website here.

8 thoughts on “Abandon – Meg Cabot

Please Leave a Comment

