Wings – Aprilynne Pike

“Laurel is an ordinary fifteen-year-old high school girl. But something incredible is happening to her. She is changing.

Now Laurel is about to discover that a deep and powerful magic holds the key to her destiny.”

I was initially attracted to this book by the gorgeous cover and once I had read what it was about I was completely intrigued and had to buy it.

I was hooked as soon as I started reading and I knew that this would end up as another one day read because I just couldn’t put it down! The clear way this book has been written meant that it was easy and comfortable to read, and the storyline was just fantastic – it was so imaginative and different and that is what kept me turning the pages until the end.

I liked the friendship between Laurel and David, it was always just on the edge of something more and even by the end you don’t fully know where things will go with them. They worked well as a team trying to figure out what Laurel was and what it all meant, this was fun to read especially as everything began to unfold and more details were revealed.

Laurel’s first meeting with Tamani was great, it was exciting and dangerous and signalled the moment that I had been anticipating most – Laurel discovering what she is. Tamani was very intriguing and Laurel was definitely attracted to him but wouldn’t admit it to anyone else. I think this will be the beginning of a fantastic love triangle, at the moment nothing is very clear-cut, she has feelings for them both but hasn’t really committed herself to anything so I believe she could still go either way. I look forward to seeing how this evolves in the next book.

As I was reading this book I could picture everything so vividly and I think it would make a great movie. The ending was beautiful, it was emotional and left me wanting so much more. Actually that would be the only negative thing I have to say about this book – it went too quickly and I just didn’t want it to end. I have already ordered the next book in the series Spells and I can’t wait for it to arrive so I can find out what’s next for Laurel.

This is a magical, different story – a real page turner.

Wings can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Aprilynne Pike visit her website here.

3 thoughts on “Wings – Aprilynne Pike

Please Leave a Comment

