Strings Attached – Mandy Baggot

“Caterer George Fraser has a mission.  She’s going to prove everyone wrong.  Ambitious owner of catering firm Finger Food and black sheep of her family, she’s determined to succeed in business where she’s so far failed in her personal life.  Asked to cater for gorgeous rock star Quinn Blake’s after-show party her life suddenly takes a turn for the dramatic.

Magnetically drawn together, George and Quinn embark on a relationship that no one must know about.  But is Quinn everything he seems or is there more to his star life than he’s telling her?

Things hot up when George is invited to the wedding of the millennium and her integrity very soon becomes compromised.  With celebrity obsessed colleague Marisa in the mix and her beloved Adam spending more time in her life can George keep her secrets and hold on to her ambition, or will love finally get in the way?”

I bought this book at a signing in Southampton Waterstones, it was lovely to meet Mandy in person and I was excited to get this book because I had heard good things about it.

Pretty much as soon as I started reading I was hooked, it was one of those books that makes you want to know more so I ended up in the situation where I kept saying ‘just one more page’.  George lives in Basingstoke which isn’t far from where I live so I also liked the local element of it.

The story is told from George’s and Quinn’s point of view which made it so much more enjoyable for me because I was keen to know what was going through Quinn’s mind at certain times throughout the book.

There were quite a few funny moments including a hilarious OAP party that had me in stitches as I pictured the scene and a very eventful bachelor/bachelorette party.  There were also plenty of emotional moments throughout the book so I felt like all my emotions had been catered for (see what I did there).

George was a tough character with a troubled past, she was struggling with family drama and secrets so she put all of her energy into making her catering business successful.  Even when she attracts the attention of Quinn she tries not to let her barriers down, quite unsuccessfully I might add.

Quinn was a typical gorgeous, womanizing rock star.  When he first arrives in the story he is full of confidence but after meeting George he is left feeling confused and I loved the effect she had on him. As the story progressed Quinn showed a different side to his rock star personality and I have to confess that I did fall a little bit in love with him and his thoughtful but seductive ways. The forbidden love/lust between him and George was exciting and dangerous and I loved every minute of it!

Marisa was a favourite of mine, I loved the way she said exactly what she thought and how she brought humour to some otherwise serious moments.  It was also interesting to see how she changed throughout the book, by the end I felt she had matured a lot – I love it when a character develops in a good way.

There was a big shock at the end, it was so deliciously unbelievable that it could only happen in fiction. This is actually one of the reasons I love fiction so much because anything can happen, I read these books to escape into a different world for a few hours and I certainly don’t want my escape to be too realistic, so this book fulfilled my need perfectly!

I would love to know what happens next for everyone in this story because I felt attached to them all by the end and didn’t want it to finish.

An exciting and romantic story with an emotional edge.

Strings attached can be purchased here in paperback or here for a Kindle copy.

To find out more about Mandy Baggot visit her website here.

6 thoughts on “Strings Attached – Mandy Baggot

  1. Kate, this is my favourite of Mandy’s stories. I’m still a little in love with Quinn:) I even wrote Strings into a short story haha Fab review (as always). Love your added humour 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

