Going La La – Alexandra Potter

“Frankie’s life is falling apart.  In less than a week she’s gone from having everything – a great job, lovely flat and gorgeous Hugh – to having nothing at all.

Devastated, dumped and on the dole, she packs her bags and flies to Los Angeles to stay with an old friend.  Her goal? To sort out her life and get over Hugh.  She does not, repeat not, go to LA to fall head over heels for an American photographer called Reilly and to run away to Las Vegas.

But what happens when Hugh wants her back?  Who will she choose?  And is it really true that whatever happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas?”

I bought this book because I previously read and enjoyed What’s New, Pussycat? (review here) by Alexandra Potter and wanted to read more from her.

This book has a lovely cover and the story captured my interest right from the start, Frankie was a likeable character who seemed to be going through a rough time after losing her job.  After a disastrous birthday trip to the bowling alley she also ends up losing her boyfriend and her home.

I loved following her story as she headed to LA to start a new life full of glamour and fascinating LA living.  During her time there a few coincidences seem to push her in a certain direction, one which she is quite reluctant to head towards.  As I’ve said before, I love a story that contains a coincidence or two so this was a particularly enjoyable part of the book for me.

Rita and Dorian were brilliant characters – really fun and outgoing, they certainly liked to enjoy life and have a good time.  Reilly was an interesting, sexy guy who couldn’t figure Frankie out as she blew hot and cold with her indecision.

This book may have been a little bit predictable at times but this didn’t affect my enjoyment of it in the slightest and I found that I just didn’t want to put it down (another one day read to add to the list).

This is a real page-turner and, seeing as most of it is based in LA, a perfect summery read.

Going La La can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Alexandra Potter visit her website here.

 

2 thoughts on “Going La La – Alexandra Potter

  1. I’ve just re-read What’s New, Pussycat, which is the only Alexandra Potter novel I’ve read. I enjoye it (again) and was thinking I should read more of her books.

    Going La La sounds good and I love the cover.

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

