The Other Side of The Story – Marian Keyes

“Crossed women.  Crossed Lines.  Crossed Swords.

The Agent – Jojo, a high-flying literary agent on the up, has just made a very bad career move: she’s jumped into bed with her married boos, Mark …

The Bestseller – Jojo’s sweet-natured client Lily’s first novel is a roaring success.  She and lover Anton celebrate by spending the advance for her second book.  Then she gets writer’s block …

The Unknown – Gemma used to be Lily’s best friend – until Lily ‘stole’ Anton.  Now she’s writing her own story – painfully and hilariously – when super-shark agent Jojo stumbles across it …

When their fortunes become entangled, it seems too much to hope that they’ll all find a happy ending.  But maybe they’ll each discover that there’s more than one side to every story …”

I was looking forward to reading this book as I’ve loved the other Marian Keyes books that I’ve read,  I found that it took me a while to really get into the story but once I did I was hooked so it’s definitely worth reading through if you feel the same way.

I loved all three of the main female characters, they all offered me something different.  Gemma was really funny and gave me some real laugh out loud moments, especially with her family dramas and hilarious emails.  Jojo was fantastic, she was strong and confident which made for great reading and although I didn’t agree with her affair with Mark, I still liked her.  Lily surprised me, after reading Gemma’s story I expected not to like this man-stealer but actually I took to her really quickly and discovered that what happened wasn’t all black and white.  I suppose the title to this story says it all really!

I always love books that have inside information on agents/publishers/authors and this book had lots of it, I find it so interesting to see how things work behind the scenes.

Some other funny moments to look out for when reading this book are Lesley Lattimore’s wedding – the wedding planning and even the day itself had me chuckling, and another part that was very funny was when Lily and Anton had the builders in, I loved their nicknames!

The story really heated up towards the end as unexpected things happened and I just had to know how it would all turn out so I couldn’t stop reading.  A few more surprising events and an important phone call later I reached the end which was perfect for me, it ended just how I hoped it would.

The Other Side of The Story can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Marian Keyes visit her website here.

2 thoughts on “The Other Side of The Story – Marian Keyes

    1. I haven’t read Rachel’s Holiday – I will have to look out for that one!

      Thanks for commenting and thank you for kindly nominating me for an award, I will go take a look and blog about it soon 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

