Finding My Happy Pace – Heather Wardell

If thirty-year-old Megan were any more of a doormat, she’d have footprints on her back. She helps anyone and everyone, no matter the cost to herself, and she’s always been that way. Even the thought of withholding her assistance makes her feel sick. Worse, it makes her feel like she’s a bad person, selfish and unkind.

She takes up running purely to avoid gaining weight, but as she trains with her cute but heartbroken coach Andrew she becomes more able to do things she’d never thought she could, both physically and emotionally.

The day before she runs her first marathon, though, her best friend’s demands result in the biggest challenge yet to her developing assertiveness and Megan must decide: cave in as she always has before or stick to her new-found ‘happy pace’ in running and life.”

Firstly I’d like to thank Heather Wardell for sending me this eBook to read and review.

I loved the sound of the synopsis and couldn’t wait to get started because I really enjoyed Heather’s other books that I have previously read – Life, Love and a Polar Bear Tattoo and Blank Slate Kate.

This book was no different, I quickly became absorbed in the story and it’s characters.  I found I could relate to Megan really well as, like me, she found it hard to say no to people and constantly tried to make everyone happy (except herself!).  The whole running idea seemed to be a real learning curve for her as she began to change her way of life to suit herself instead of everyone else.  I found this really inspiring as it made me think of changes I could make in my own life.

I don’t often have a serious dislike to characters but Amanda and James really got that reaction out of me, I know they were probably supposed to make the reader feel like that and they were vital to the story but I found myself complaining at my Kindle every time one of them opened their mouth!

Jeanine, Tosca and Andrew had the opposite effect on me, I really liked them and enjoyed watching them change throughout the book.  I liked how Andrew came across as being very strong but once you dug beneath the surface he had a few hidden weaknesses.  Also his relationship with Megan was fun to read, I enjoyed following them as they got to know each other better and essentially helped each other out with some difficult choices.

The running side of the story was my favourite part – it just made me want to run, I actually got on our treadmill for the first time in ages while reading this and hopefully I will be able to continue now I’ve finished the book!  I really loved reading about the marathon itself, it’s not something I would ever do so this made me feel like I had some idea of what it would be like.

This is a fun, fast paced, feel-good story and on top of all that it has inspired me to get fit, so it gets a big thumbs up from me!

Finding My Happy Pace can be purchased from Smashwords or Amazon UK and US.

To find out more about Heather Wardell visit her website here.

2 thoughts on “Finding My Happy Pace – Heather Wardell

  1. ooooh I don’t know, I hate running. I have a really split relationship with that form of physical exercise, no idea why. Maybe I’ll feel differently when I read this book? X

    Like

    1. I’m not normally into running but this book really made it sound fun and I’ll admit that it did make me feel energised after my little treadmillathon 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

