Taking Charge – Mandy Baggot – Blog Tour

Today I am taking part in my very first blog tour!

I’m excited to be a part of Mandy Baggot’s tour for her latest novel Taking Charge which is published by Sapphire Star Publishing.  Thank you to Mandy for sending me an ARC for review.

Is going back Robyn’s only way forward?

American-born Robyn Matthers is going home. With her dad in hospital, his roadhouse in ruins and the ice hockey team slipping down the league, she needs to take charge. But does she have the strength to do it? 

Cole Ryan is a hockey player on a personal mission. He’s tall, dark, hot and Robyn’s noticed! But can she trust her feelings – or his? And what will Cole do when he finds out the truth about her?

Robyn returns to Michigan and things aren’t quite the same. Her best friend has grown up and is thinking about marriage and babies, the ice hockey team is no longer the life blood of the community and her father is engaged!

When Robyn’s twin cousins drag up past events that hold painful memories for her, she and Cole are forced together. But are either of them ready to start something new?

With an ill father, a trailer trash almost step-mom and ex-boyfriend Brad desperate for another chance, does Robyn have time to contemplate a relationship? Does she really want one? And is it physically possible for two people to fall in love in just three days?”

I was so looking forward to reading this, I love the cover and I have to admit that the photo of a certain ice-hockey player did raise my interest just a little bit! I loved having an image of the character in mind while I read the book, it made everything seem more real.

The start of this book was fantastic, it was intense and exciting – there was definitely a chemistry between Robyn and Cole right from the beginning!

I really loved Robyn, she has to be one of the best female characters I’ve read and I found myself completely caught up in her life.  I liked how confident and random she was, she talked a lot and was extremely determined to get what she wanted. Underneath all that though you could tell that she was vulnerable and had some personal issues that she was dealing with.

Cole was perfect, well maybe he also had some issues but who doesn’t?  He was gorgeous (just look at his photo, no further comment necessary), protective and despite having his own problems to handle he was always there for Robyn.  Mandy says she writes characters you’ll fall in love with and I totally agree – I loved every single character in this story.

I also really took to Eddie and Max, they had me laughing out loud with their hospital antics, I could easily picture them behaving like cheeky schoolboys when they were supposed to be ill and taking better care of themselves.

There were so many great moments in this story that I really enjoyed – random kissing, crazy shopping trips, an interesting changing room shower scene, the list just goes on and on.  There were also lots of secrets and some serious issues that I feel were dealt with accurately and honestly.  My eyes welled up with tears on quite a few occasions whilst reading this book as those secrets were revealed and trusts were broken.

I absolutely couldn’t stop reading this, I was so completely involved in what was going on and just had to know what was going to happen next.

This is a romantic, fun story with a perfect ending – I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Taking Charge can be purchased from Amazon UK and US

Mandy writes strong contemporary romance and characters you’ll fall in love with. Previously self-published, she was signed by US publishing house Sapphire Star Publishing in January 2012. Shortly afterwards she became a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.  Mandy is a self-confessed Twitter addict who also likes to show off her singing talents on You Tube – check out Lady Gaga! She has auditioned for X Factor, appeared on ITV1s Who Dares Sings and longs to duet with Bryan Adams. She also has a fondness for white wine, mashed potato, country music and World’s Strongest Man. Mandy lives near Salisbury in Wiltshire, UK with her husband, two daughters and two cats called Kravitz and Springsteen.

You can find out more on Mandy’s website or check out her author page at Sapphire Star Publishing.

There are still some more stops on the blog tour so be sure to visit them too:

 

7 thoughts on “Taking Charge – Mandy Baggot – Blog Tour

Please Leave a Comment

