Chloe’s Corner – Dork Diaries – Rachel Renee Russell

Nikki Maxwell is not popular, in fact Nikki Maxwell is the opposite of popular; she’s a total dork! But Nikki’s hoping that by moving to a new school she might just stand a chance of making some friends and leaving her old lame-ways in the past. But life is never that simple!

Follow Nikki’s life through sketches, doodles and diary entries as she starts her new school, battles with her mum for an iPhone and meets her arch-nemisis, the school’s queen bee, Mackenzie. Enter Nikki’s world through her sketches, doodles and diary entries.”

I have chosen to read this book because of the simple yet colourful front cover, also because of the small ‘manga’ sketches.

The storyline of this book was a regular girl going to school, running into the most ‘popular’ girls who seem to bully her throughout trying to embarrass her every chance they can get, even though she has done nothing wrong to them. This made me feel sympathy towards her.

I loved the layout of this book because it looks like an actual diary with the ‘scribbled’ font and funny sketches.

My favourite character had to be ‘Nikki Maxwell’, she played a main role in this book, I liked her because she seemed natural, not fake like the ‘popular girls’ were portrayed. Also I liked her humour and bubbly personality, like being embarrassed of her own Dads car…. but trust me…. it was embarrassing! Β I thought that the cliffhanger was great aswell because it kept me waiting for the next book.

I enjoyed this book because of the Genre β†’ Diary, I love reading about everyday life and I liked the range of characters that the book had, from the ‘popular’ people to the quieter personalities.Β I felt that this book relates to the school that I go to because you have the people who everyone knows, but then there are people who are more quiet and blend into the background.

I really got into this book because as soon as I turned and read that first page….. I was hooked! I wouldn’t change anything about this book!

I would recommend this to 9-12 year olds, mostly girls, this is because it is a girl writing the diary so she would have a girl’s point of view, also it is about subjects that some boys may find boring like a small amount of romance and a girls everyday lifestyle.

Overall view, an interesting read, definitely recommended!

Dork Diaries can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

2 thoughts on “Chloe’s Corner – Dork Diaries – Rachel Renee Russell

Please Leave a Comment

