Ascend – Amanda Hocking

“Wendy Everly can barely remember what it was like to feel like a normal girl. She’d wished for her life to be different but everything is so much more complicated than she’d expected. And she certainly hadn’t dreamt she’d be getting married at eighteen to a man she didn’t love – all for the sake of duty.

As the big day approaches, Wendy can’t stop thinking about two different men – and neither of them are her husband-to-be. Finn – quiet, strong and determined to do what’s right, and Loki – dark and seductive, a sworn enemy who once saved her life …

With all-out war just days away, Wendy needs to act quickly if she is to save her friends and family. But while her loyalties and duties are to her people, deeper passions are leading her elsewhere.

And as her worlds collide, Wendy must sacrifice everything she loves to save them. But will it be enough?”

I was so excited to read this final book in the Trylle trilogy – I absolutely loved the first two books (reviews here and here) and I couldn’t wait to find out how it all ends.

This trilogy just got better and better and I feel sad that it’s all over, but at the same time I feel strangely satisfied because of the way it ended – for me everything was tied up and resolved so I’m not left wondering what might happen after the book finished.

As with the previous books there was lots of action and breathtaking moments that just kept me turning page after page, I literally couldn’t get enough and read it in just a few hours.  I actually find it quite difficult to express just how much I enjoyed this trilogy, it really was amazing and is definitely one of my new favourites!

The characters have really grown throughout all three books and it was great to follow them as they found their places in life.  There wasn’t a single character that I disliked (apart from the obvious bad guy) and I really wanted the best for them all.  Wendy seemed to have found her power in this book and was much more in control, until she was around certain male characters of course.  We also saw a much softer side to Elora which is something that I had a feeling was there but she did a good job of hiding.

Loki had to be my favourite character of them all – aside from being sexy and strong, he was also very cheeky and funny and I loved that about him.  The morning after the wedding was a particular favourite ‘Loki’ moment of mine, it had me laughing out loud as I could picture the scene so vividly.

I was pleased that it all ended the way I had hoped it would, I’ve heard of some people who were unhappy with how it finished but for me personally it couldn’t have been better!

This trilogy had everything that I was looking for – danger, romance (which includes a fantastic love triangle), sadness, shocks and so much more.  I would recommend these books to anyone and everyone!

Ascend can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

To find out more about Amanda Hocking visit her blog here.

Please Leave a Comment

