The Perfect Hero – Victoria Connelly

“Die-hard romantic, Kay Ashton, runs a B&B in the seaside town of Lyme Regis and is dumbstruck when the cast and crew of Persuasion descend.  Kay can’t believe her luck – especially when she realises that heart-throb actor, Oli Wade Owen, will be sleeping under her very own roof!

Meanwhile, co-star Gemma Reilly is worried that her acting isn’t up to scratch, despite landing a plum role.  She finds a sympathetic ear in shy producer, Adam Craig, who is as baffled by the film world as she is.  Kay thinks the two are meant for each other and can’t resist a spot of matchmaking.

The, when Oli turns his trademark charm on Kay, it seems that she has found her real-life hero.  But do heroes really exist?” 

This was an impulse buy, I liked the cover and I thought it sounded like an entertaining read from the synopsis.

I enjoyed this book, it didn’t knock my socks off but it was a fun read.  I liked the behind the scenes on a film set idea, and the thought of a film cast and crew coming into your town, meeting and interacting with them would be fantastic!  I’m sure I would be just as star-struck as Kay was.

The story is told from Kay, Gemma and Adam’s point of view.  I loved Kay’s imagination, it sounded scarily like my own – she tended to go off into a daydream and that is something that I’m certainly guilty of.

I also found I could relate to Gemma who was a huge worrier (another trait of mine), she is a quiet character who was being put under a lot of pressure and you could tell that she wasn’t happy with what she was doing.

Adam was one of my favourite characters, he was really sweet, shy and as the reader you can see what he is trying to do, without much success I might add, I found myself yelling at the book as if I could help get through to Kay!  Adam’s Nana Craig was also a favourite, I loved how straight-talking she was and her conversations with Adam about his love life had me laughing out loud.

There were many crossed wires between the characters and this made it interesting to read, it was fun reading about all the misunderstandings but I was sure everyone would figure out what was what by the end.

I enjoyed reading the wonderful descriptions of Lyme Regis and the surrounding areas, it really set the scene for the Jane Austen world that they were trying to recreate.

I think the lesson of this story is that sometimes when dreams come true, they aren’t always as good as you thought they might be, and you could end up setting yourself up for disappointment.

This was a perfect holiday read, light and enjoyable.

The Perfect Hero can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Hero – Victoria Connelly

Please Leave a Comment

