Everneath – Brodi Ashton

“Six months ago, Nikki Beckett vanished into an underworld known as the Everneath.

Now she’s returned to her old life for another six months before the Everneath comes to claim her … this time for ever.  Nikki longs to spend this precious time reconnecting with the people she left behind – her family, her friends and, most importantly, her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything.

But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smouldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki home, convinced that she is the key to claiming the throne of the Underworld.  Cole wants to bring Nikki back to the Everneath, but this time as his queen.

Now Nikki only has six months for goodbyes she can’t find the words for, six months to make the hardest decision of her life, six months to find redemption, if it exists …”

I bought this book for two reasons – one because of the gorgeous cover and two because I had read lots of reviews for it and wanted to see for myself what it was like.

I was drawn into the story very quickly, I liked how it jumped from then to now giving the reader teasing snippets of information about the events leading up to Nikki vanishing to the Everneath.  Each chapter had a countdown to the time when Nikki was due to be claimed by the Everneath and every time I got to one of these points my heart started beating faster as I anticipated what might happen when time runs out.

The story is a modern-day retelling of the Persephone myth and I felt that this was captured perfectly.  I actually had a feeling of hopelessness whilst reading and I found myself trying to figure out ways to stop the inevitable from happening. There were some really sweet, romantic moments and it made me feel sad that this was all happening to Nikki.

I was so absorbed by this story, I couldn’t stop reading and ended up finishing it in just one day. One of the reasons I couldn’t stop reading was because as I got further in the book everything started falling in to place – my questions were being answered and I was understanding everything much better.

The ending actually shocked me, I really didn’t expect it, but now I think about it I feel like I should have seen it coming because there definitely were clues.

This is the first in a planned trilogy and I seriously can’t wait to find out what happens next so I am eagerly awaiting news of the next book.

A dark and mysterious story that pulled me in and wouldn’t let go!

Everneath can be purchased here or from most good book retailers.

6 thoughts on “Everneath – Brodi Ashton

Please Leave a Comment

