A Girl Like You – Gemma Burgess

“After breaking up with her boyfriend of, well, forever, Abigail Wood must learn how to be single from scratch.

Her dating skills are abysmal, and she ricochets from disaster to disaster – until Robert, one of London’s most notorious lotharios, agrees to coach her.

With his advice, she learns to navigate the bastard-infested waters of the bar scene and practices the art of being bulletproof. The new Abigail is cocky, calm, composed… but what happens when she meets her match?”

This was another impulse buy, I liked the sound of the synopsis and I thought it would be my kind of book.  I could tell quite early on that I would enjoy it – I had tons of other things to do but found myself sneaking back to read a couple more pages!

The dating lessons were fun to read and Abigail’s disastrous dates had me laughing out loud many times.  The conversational style of writing made it enjoyable and easy to read – like I was chatting to a friend.

I enjoyed seeing how Abigail grows in confidence throughout the book and how she embraced single life instead of moping about it.  Her trip to Hong Kong was another part of the story I really enjoyed, especially the vivid descriptions that made me feel like I was there with her.

There is rather a lot of swearing throughout the story, it didn’t bother me personally but if it is something that you would find offensive then this book probably isn’t for you.

The ending was fantastic, it really made me smile – I have to admit that I kind of guessed that things would turn out the way they did but it was still good to read (and it’s always good to be proved right).

This was funny and entertaining, a great book to curl up with and have a laugh.

8 thoughts on “A Girl Like You – Gemma Burgess

  1. Sounds like my kind of book. I don’t mind endings that you can see coming – to me, it’s the journey getting there that’s important. How many films do you know who’s going to end up with who from the first scene? Doesn’t ruin the film and it’s the same with books for me.

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

