Torn – Amanda Hocking

“Acknowledging that she was different from everyone else wasn’t difficult for Wendy Everly – she’d always felt like an outsider.  But a new world and new family is a little hard for any girl to accept.  Leaving behind the mysterious country of her birth, she is determined to fit back into normal life.  But the world she’s left behind won’t let her go that easily …

Kidnapped and imprisoned by her true family’s enemies, Wendy soon learns that the lines between good and evil aren’t as defined as she thought.  And those things she’d taken for granted may have been lies all along.  With the help of the dangerously attractive Loki, she escapes back to the safety of Förening – only to be confronted by a new threat.

It’s time to make a choice – can she put aside her personal feelings for the sake of her country?  Torn between duty and love she must make a choice that could destroy her one chance at true happiness.”

I was so excited to read this book after absolutely loving Switched (review here) and it didn’t let me down because I loved this book even more than the first, I didn’t think it was possible but apparently it is, and if this trilogy continues to get better and better then I really can’t wait for the next one!

I find it really difficult to express just how much I enjoyed this story, I was completely and utterly drawn in by this book – I ended up reading it in just a few hours because I was so unable to put it down.  There is a revelation near the beginning of the book that actually made me gasp in shock, I really didn’t see it coming but once I thought about it, it all made perfect sense and a lot of things slipped into place.

The new characters made great additions to the regulars and I was pleased to have some of the questions I had left over from the first book answered in this one.  You can see each character growing as the story progresses and I feel that by the end of this book I had a much better understanding of each of them.

Wendy’s love life is as complicated as ever and the addition of another gorgeous guy and arrangements that have been in place for many years just confuses things even more for her.  Expect some heart pounding moments and exciting meetings that will keep you reading page after page.

This book also had a bonus story at the back, called One Day: Three Ways and it followed Finn, Tove and Loki on a day that is clearly going to be important for the next book.

This is an amazing story full of danger, excitement and love, I am so looking forward to reading the final book in the trilogy Ascend which is due to be released in the UK on 26 April 2012.

3 thoughts on “Torn – Amanda Hocking

    1. Thanks for your lovely comment Shaz, it really means a lot!

      I hope you enjoy them if you get round to reading them – this is definitely one of my favourite book trilogies 🙂 x

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

