Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend – Sarra Manning

“Hope Delafield hasn’t always had an easy life.  She has red hair and a temper to match, as her mother is constantly reminding her.  She can’t wear heels, is terrified of heights and being a primary school teacher isn’t exactly the job she dreamed of doing, especially when her class are stuck on the two times table.

At least Hope has Jack, and Jack is the God of boyfriends.  He’s sweet, kind, funny, has a killer smile, a cool job on a fashion magazine and he’s pretty (but in a manly way).  Hope knew that Jack was The One ever since their first kiss after the Youth Club Disco and thirteen years later, they’re still totally in love.  Totally.  And then Hope catches Jack kissing her best friend Susie…”

Having previously read and loved Sarra Manning’s You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me (review here) I was looking forward to reading more from her so I couldn’t wait to get stuck into this one.

I certainly wasn’t disappointed because this story had me at the very first sentence “It was obvious it wasn’t the first time that Hope’s boyfriend and her best friend had kissed”, I knew then that I’d struggle to put this book down.

Hope is a really interesting character, she’s hot headed and feisty which made for some interesting reading after an eventful dinner party changes her life forever.  She had so many ups and downs during the story that I really had no idea which way it was all going to go (even if I did have a strong opinion on which way I thought it should go).

I enjoyed reading about Hope’s job as a teacher of 6 year olds, being a mum of a child the same age I found it really interesting to see it from a teacher’s point of view and found myself laughing out loud as I pictured some of the funny classroom situations she found herself in.  This story had plenty of laugh out loud moments that weren’t to do with her school teaching though and it also had some more serious moments that made me feel desperately sad for Hope.

Wilson was a great character, a quiet mysterious type who I seemed to like and dislike in equal measures.  Jack annoyed me but that was probably because of the way he treated Hope and the rest of the characters were all likeable (yes even Susie) and seemed to fit well in the story.

This is a funny, sexy book that entertained me to the last word.

2 thoughts on “Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend – Sarra Manning

    1. It may have been by Sarra Manning as she has written some YA books although I haven’t read any of them. Also I think her next book is going to be another YA.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Comment

