Switched – Amanda Hocking

“Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth.  Although certain she’s not the monster her mother claims she is – she does feel that she doesn’t quite fit in…

She’s bored and frustrated by her small town life – and then there’s the secret that she can’t tell anyone.  Her mysterious ability – she can influence people’s decisions, without knowing how, or why…

When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night – her world is turned upside down.  He holds the key to her past, the answers to her strange powers, and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist: Förening, the home of the Trylle.

Finally everything makes sense.  Among the Trylle, Wendy is not just different, but special.  But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger.  With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust.  But dark forces are conspiring – not only to separate them, but to see the downfall of everything that Wendy cares about.

The fate of the Förening rests in Wendy’s hands, and the decisions she and Finn make could change all their lives forever…”

After I read and loved the My Blood Approves series (review here) I wanted to read more from Amanda Hocking.  I loved the cover of this book and the synopsis really intrigued me.

Straight away I was fascinated by Wendy and wanted to find out more about her life, she is feisty and confident yet seems lonely, like she doesn’t fit in.  Finn is also very interesting, he is the classic mysterious type that you just want to discover more about so you can figure out why he’s doing the things that he’s doing.  The chemistry between these two characters was subtle but very exciting, I could really feel the attraction between them as I read.

The idea for the story was very different to anything I’ve ever read before – I never thought a story about trolls would interest me so much but I was completely captivated by this wonderful magical world and the lovely way it was written made it very difficult to put the book down.

I ended up staying awake late into the night (or should I say early in the morning) because I got to that stage in the book where I literally couldn’t put it down.  Then when I got to the end I was so frustrated because I didn’t want the story to finish, it was so exciting and imaginative that I just wanted to stay in that amazing magical world with them.

There was a bonus short story at the back of this book called The Vittra Attacks which will make sense when you’ve read Switched – this was a great extra read and I have a feeling that the information gathered in this short story will be extremely relevant in the the next book.  Speaking of the next book, I have already ordered Torn and I can’t wait for it to arrive so I can find out what happens next.

This book is enchanting and different, it had me completely hooked from start to finish.

9 thoughts on “Switched – Amanda Hocking

  1. So glad you liked it. I started these books when they were still self published and go back to re-read them every once in a while. I’m so glad that people are getting introduced to them again. Like you, I picked them up once I had read through all the currently available My Blood Approves books. I’m going back to Torn soon. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment! It’s definitely a re-readable book, my copy of Torn has just arrived but I’m in the middle of another series now so it’s going to have to wait a bit longer even though I’m chomping at the bit to get started on it 🙂

    Like

  3. Omg, my bffl saw your book in the library and got it and I read a bit of it and was captivated and so I rented it and I also got the free one from the dolly mag and I am soooooo hooked!!!!!!! So many people want it so I have been waiting for ages to get it at my library!!! I love finn but he would be wayyyy better without his goatie, that’s why I love Loki, totally face hair free, love it!!!!
    Omg, love the books you should be proud
    Me and my bffl are your biggest fans!!!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

