Personally, I Blame my Fairy Godmother – Claudia Carroll

“Jessie Woods absolutely believes in fairytale endings.  So would you if you had a high flying career as a daredevil TV host, a palatial pink mansion and the dream boyfriend.

But, quicker than you can say Cinderella, her life falls to pieces and suddenly her prince isn’t quite so charming, her party-loving friends disappear and even her faithful friend Visa no longer loves her…

Utterly heartbroken and jobless, Jessie is forced back home, to live with her stepmum and two evil stepsisters.

Is it time for her to give up on the dream – or will Jessie learn that happy endings can come in the strangest of places?”

Having read and enjoyed four other books from Claudia Carroll, Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?, I Never Fancied Him Anyway, Do You Want To Know a Secret and Remind Me Again Why I Need a Man?, I spotted this book when I was out and about (somehow I found myself in a bookshop….. again) and just had to get it!  I really love the title and the cover too – anything with shiny writing will always grab my attention.

This really is a Cinderella type story, at the beginning Jessie leads a crazy fast paced life but she is struggling to keep up with it financially.  There are many twists and turns that follow and as with other Claudia Carroll books there are plenty of funny moments too.  Some of the situations Jessie finds herself in regularly had me laughing out loud, I particularly enjoyed the moments that followed the phrase and that’s when it happens’.

All the characters were fun and memorable and I could picture them all so easily from their descriptions.  Jessie’s stepsisters were rather rude and nasty to her but I still found myself really liking them.  I thoroughly enjoyed Maggie’s jokes and one liners, they definitely contributed to most of my laugh out loud moments whilst reading this book.

Jessie learns some important life lessons in this story, going back to basics makes her realise what is important in life and I loved this factor of the book – it’s so easy to get carried away with material things that really aren’t that important and this made me think differently about those things (I love a book that can do that!).

The ending of this story really made me smile, it was just the kind of ending that I had hoped for.

For me this was another hit from Claudia Carroll, it was entertaining and very funny.

Please Leave a Comment

