Lucy in the Sky – Paige Toon

“It’s been nine years since Lucy left Australia.  Nine years since she’s seen her best friend Molly, and Sam, the one-time love of her life.  Now her two friends are getting married.  To each other.  And Lucy is on her way to Sydney for their wedding.

Life for Lucy has moved on.  She’s happily settled with James, her gorgeous lawyer boyfriend, with their flat in London and her glamorous job in PR.  Surely there’s no reason to expect this two-week holiday in the sun will be anything out of the ordinary?

But just before take-off, Lucy receives a text from James’s mobile.  She can’t resist taking a look … and, in one push of a button, her world comes crashing down …” 

Well this book had me hooked right from the very start – just two pages in and I was gasping in shock – definitely a sign of a good book!  From then on I just could not put this book down, it seems that Paige Toon is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors as this is the second book of hers that has captured my interest so completely.

Lucy is a great character, I felt I could understand her and I found myself becoming really involved with her life.  Her flight to Australia was definitely eventful and had me laughing out loud as I pictured the scene.  I felt so many emotions as I read about her struggle with her feelings throughout the book, there were times when I wanted to shout through the book to make her come to her senses!

There are wonderful descriptions of Sydney and London in this book, as I was reading it made me feel like I was actually there – I wish!  I also enjoyed reading about Lucy’s job in PR, there were lots of funny moments in the book surrounding her job and it was really interesting to find out more about the world of PR.

I loved Lucy’s friendship with Nathan, they really seemed to connect and enjoy being together.  I especially enjoyed all the jokes they shared, although I have to admit there were some that I didn’t understand (I’ve never been very good at getting jokes).  I predicted correctly how it would turn out but there were still some unexpected moments that shocked me.

This is a wonderful tale of love, lies, happiness and heartache that captured me from the first to the last page.

Please Leave a Comment

