Song to Wake to and Rock Anthem – J.D. Field

“Sixteen-year-old Maddy Bride starts at a new school in the countryside. She knows she’ll have to deal with sports obsessed rich kids, cliques, and pressure. She doesn’t expect myths from the shadowy past to be taking place around her. Not only are the legends unfinished. They’re starting all over again.

Her new classmate, Eddy Moon, is awkward, and shy, and has lived a life of hardship and loneliness. As his strength and sense of purpose become more and more striking, Maddy comes to believe that he may have a place in the stories. At the same time she realises that the place she wants is by his side.

Closeness to Eddy brings Maddy another shocking realisation. Not only is he a mythic hero returned to life in the countryside, but maybe she too has a place in the legends. Torn between normality and her attraction to the magnificent Eddy Moon, Maddy has to decide who she is, who she is going to be, and whether stories must end the same way twice.”

This book was fantastic, it completely had me hooked and I just couldn’t put it down.  There were parts at the beginning of the story that reminded me of both Twilight and The Vampire Diaries – I love both of these so this is not necessarily a bad thing, I just felt that I had read it before.  However, I soon realised that this story was very different when certain British legends were brought into the equation.

King Arthur, the Lady of the Lake and Merlin are just some of the things that make this book different to anything I’ve read before.  It has been cleverly written in a way that brings these historical figures into the modern world and makes it believable.

Maddy was a great character, I especially liked all her different persona’s and the way she describes them.  She discovers a lot about herself in this book and there were quite a few times that I gasped out loud at the things she found out.  Eddy was a perfect handsome hero and I loved how his character developed throughout the story, the more that was revealed about him, the more he became.  I didn’t like the Four Horsemen at the start, I thought they were arrogant, but by the end I had warmed to them all.

I was planning to wait before I bought the next book in the series (I’ve bought far too many books recently and really need to read them first) but I couldn’t resist once I got to the end of this one – I simply had to know what happens next!

 “This story sees the series heroes, Madeleine and Eddy, fighting to be themselves as their mythic fates take terrifying turns.

Another legendary character appears at Levels College, threatening the school and all its rich and sporty inhabitants while at the same time Madeleine’s friends become drawn into her extraordinary backstory. Will they accept the history that makes her one of a kind? Or will they themselves be victim to the dark and ancient forces pursuing Madeleine and Eddy?

Against a backdrop of fear and change the newborn relationship between Madeleine and Eddy comes under incredible strain. Do they both want it to survive? And what will happen when one of them makes a new friend? An attractive, wealthy, charming friend, who redefines everything they thought important.”

This book had lots more action and adventure than the first and I found it very exciting, it had me on the edge of my seat many times.  I felt that Maddy was braver this time round which is a good thing because the story seems to be getting much more dangerous.

I enjoyed reading about all the travelling that Maddy and her friends did, the descriptions gave me a real sense of being there with them and added to the extra excitement.

There were new things for Maddy to worry about and also new things to make her smile, I was really intrigued by the mysterious emailer and even more intrigued by new character Jon who brings some fun and happiness into Maddy’s life at a time when Eddy is acting strange around her and making her feel sad.

Like the first there were also lots of things to be discovered in this story, mainly about other people this time though.  It felt like I was reading a puzzle, fitting all the pieces together and even at the end there are still lots of pieces to find places for.

The ending of this story is fantastic, it leaves so many possibilities for the next book.  Although I’d love to see Eddy and Maddy as a proper couple there is a part of me that hopes there is more to come for Jon and Maddy!

A magical story that really captured my imagination, I am eagerly awaiting the next instalment.

8 thoughts on “Song to Wake to and Rock Anthem – J.D. Field

  1. What a great review! I love to see characters grow over the course of a series! Love the font on these book covers, too. Keep up the great reviews, these books sound fun!

    Like

  2. You’ve been busy! Lovely reviews, thanks so much. And obviously, am totally intrigued… sounds like my kinda book, as you might guess! Have a great day, and thanks also for joining ‘my party’ today. XX Really appreciate what you do for us authors, honey! XXX

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

