Sophie’s Turn (Rock Star Romance Trilogy Part 1) – Nicky Wells

“Sophie’s Turn is the first instalment in the Rock Star Romance Trilogy.  Here we meet Sophie, a budding newspaper journalist who is happily embroiled in a relationship with Tim, her boyfriend of two years.  All would be well in Sophie’s life if… well, if Tim just would get his act together and propose!  And wouldn’t you know, when he eventually does, Sophie has got herself entangled with Dan Hunter, rock star extraordinaire and lead singer of Tusk.  When Dan proposes as well, he turns Sophie’s world entirely upside down.”

First of all I’d like to thank Nicky Wells (@WellsNicky on Twitter) for sending me this eBook to review.

Wow!  This book had me hooked, it was so exciting from the very start and I just didn’t want to stop reading.  Maybe it was the reminder of my own teen band obsessions and the thought of actually living out your teenage fantasies that had gripped me so tightly, whatever it was, it was fun and very enjoyable.

I loved the style of writing, it was easy to read and kept me guessing throughout.  I particularly enjoyed the Edinburgh flashbacks, I was eagerly awaiting the next segment that would give me more information on what actually happened there.

I liked all the characters, even the ones that weren’t particularly likeable, I just felt that they all had something interesting to offer me as a reader.

There were some really funny parts to this story, disaster certainly seemed to follow Sophie around and that provided many comical moments that had me laughing out loud.  The episode with Tim and the slugs was definitely one of my favourite funny moments in the book , I was crying with laughter whilst reading it – I could picture the scene so well in my head!

As always I tried to predict how things would turn out but there were so many twists and turns that I had to give up, I just couldn’t guess which way Sophie was going to go.  The ending turned out to be completely unexpected, something I hadn’t even thought of, so I wouldn’t have predicted correctly anyway.

I thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions of the places Sophie visited, they were very well written and it gave me a sense of actually being there with her.

This is an exciting, fun story that captivated me from start to finish, I simply can’t wait to read the second story in the trilogy to find out what happens next for Sophie.

Sophie’s Turn is available to buy from Amazon.

13 thoughts on “Sophie’s Turn (Rock Star Romance Trilogy Part 1) – Nicky Wells

  1. Wow, Kate! You certainly read Sophie’s Turn at lightning speed and I am thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thoughtful and detailed (not to mention glowing!!) review–that means the world to me. Yay! As you know, you won’t have to wait terribly long for the sequel… so in the meantime, take care and stay in touch! XX

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

