Infinite Days – Rebecca Maizel

“For more than 500 years Lenah has been a vampire – a life of seduction, blood and destruction.  But she is sickened by her dark powers and longs to be human again.  To feel the sun on her skin, the grass under her feet, the warm breath of a human kiss.  But that requires a great sacrifice, for the soul of a vampire is not easily shed …”

I bought this book because of the cover (surprise, surprise), I’m really drawn to covers that have beautiful dresses on them and this is definitely one of them.

I was completely gripped by this story from the very beginning, it is very different to other vampire books that I have read because this follows the main character Lenah after she has been turned from a vampire into a human!  Most vampire stories concentrate on humans being turned into vampires so this was a refreshing change.  I admit that I wasn’t too keen on Lenah at the start, she came across as very selfish and I felt I couldn’t really understand her.  However, as the book progresses and things are explained I realised that I actually really liked her.

This is an intense story that gave me so many different emotions, I felt sadness, anger, fear and happiness whilst reading, I think this is because it is written in a way that made me feel like I was living the experience alongside Lenah.  There were a few moments in the book where I wasn’t sure what was going on or what something meant but that just made it more addictive for me, it made me more eager to read on to find out the answer.

I loved the characters, Rhode was a favourite because he seemed so strong and you could feel his powerful love for Lenah through the pages.  Another favourite was loyal friend Tony, he was responsible for most of the funny moments in the story.  Justin was a surprise for me, I didn’t think he would be so tough and I thought things would end up differently with him.

I read this book in one day because it was so unputdownable, if you’re a fan of vampire type books then be prepared to lose a day to this story.  There was a massive cliffhanger at the end so I absolutely can’t wait for the next installment, Stolen Night.

This is a dark, romantic and, at times, sad vampire story that had me hooked from the start.

One thought on “Infinite Days – Rebecca Maizel

Please Leave a Comment

