The Undomestic Goddess – Sophie Kinsella

 

I was initially attracted by the title of this book, being a bit of an undomestic goddess myself I felt that I could probably relate to it.

Samantha works hard in London as a high-powered lawyer, she doesn’t get much time to herself so her social and personal lives have suffered.  She desperately wants to get a partnership in the company and it looks like she may get her wish, until she makes a huge mistake that threatens to ruin her career.

Instead of dealing with the mistake she’s made, she ups and leaves, not just the office but London altogether.  She gets on the first train she sees and ends up in the middle of nowhere.  Somehow she finds herself in a big, beautiful house being interviewed for a housekeepers job.  She manages to get hired even though she has no idea how to work the oven, let alone do the rest of the housework!  She doesn’t exactly tell her new employers the truth about herself and what follows are many humorous twists and fun encounters, including meeting a rather yummy gardener called Nathaniel.

I really really enjoyed this book, it had me laughing out loud, feeling sad and also feeling happy, all the things I look for in a great book.  Reading about Samantha’s efforts as a housekeeper were so funny, I was completely unable to put the book down and I read it in one sitting.  The blossoming relationship between Samantha and Nathaniel is fantastic and I couldn’t help but worry what his reaction would be when he found out about all the lies she’s told.

Again I did manage to roughly predict what the outcome would be but it was an enjoyable and fun journey getting there.

I would highly recommend this book, it’s a fun, heart-warming and addictive read!

4 thoughts on “The Undomestic Goddess – Sophie Kinsella

  1. Oh, this is one of my very favorite of Sophie Kinsella’s!!!!!! It is hilarious! Have you read ‘Can You Keep a Secret’ it is just as good. I was reading it on a flight to visit family, and I was laughing so hard I was getting looks from the other passengers. I love that book! Ha! I trust Sophie Kinsella as an author. I’ll read whatever she wants to write!

    Like

  2. I love ‘Can You Keep a Secret’ too – very funny and had me laughing out loud too, luckily not on a flight though 😀 ‘Remember Me?’ is another book of hers that is very funny! I completely agree about trusting Sophie Kinsella as a writer, I’d happily read anything she writes too. Thanks for your comment!

    Like

Please Leave a Comment

