You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me – Sarra Manning

 

This book was an impulse buy – I hadn’t gone to buy this book in particular but I loved the pretty cover (I’m easily won over by a nice cover) and when I read the back I knew it was my kind of book.

It follows a girl called Neve, she is currently slimming down for a guy called William who is a friend that she fell for before he moved to LA.  Nothing had ever happened between them but she developed a huge crush on him at university and thought perhaps he might reciprocate her feelings if she lost weight.  He’s been gone for three years now and Neve has dropped quite a few dress sizes but to her it’s not enough, she still feels like a fat girl which just wouldn’t be good enough for the wonderful William.  The weight issue is something I could really relate to, I’ve always had insecurities about my weight and reading this story really did make me look twice at parts of myself that I thought were bigger than they actually are.

One night Neve’s younger sister Celia convinces her to go out to a club because she thinks Neve needs to practice being with a man before William returns from LA.  Neve feels really out of place and uncomfortable at the club but stays anyway and this is where she meets Max who is Celia’s work colleague.  Max is a wonderful character, he’s a sexy, cheeky jack-the-lad and after a few interesting twists in the story he ends up becoming Neve’s practice guy.

I laughed out loud so many times while I was reading this book and I really enjoyed joining Neve on her path of discovery. While I was able to predict the outcome of the story, I wasn’t able to predict the details of how it would happen and there were certainly quite a few surprises in store for me.

This is a fun, sexy story that had me captivated from start to finish, I’ll definitely be reading this one again.

One thought on “You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me – Sarra Manning

Please Leave a Comment

